Windows 10 News and User discussion

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Sam Posten, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    440
    Real Name:
    Alfie
    Wow, some of you are having HORRIBLE luck with your computers! I feel for ya.

    I haven't had any issues using W10 on my 6 month old Asus 2 in 1 system. Nor on the 6 year old HP that upgraded to W10. We pretty much power on, sign in, surf/email/write docs.
     
  2. Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,905
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
    I do hope this trend continues for you! Most of my Windows 10 issues have been of the annoying variety, but the login text field sometimes not displaying has been the worst in that regard, as it really sucks when either waiting it out HOPING that it will eventually display so that I can then log into Windows, or else slamming down my mouse (Again, I have NO idea why THAT method seems to work - poor mouse!) appear to be my only options! There doesn't appear to be any online documentation of this issue, either! :rolleyes:

    CHEERS! :)
     
  3. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    440
    Real Name:
    Alfie
    Is there any chance you have a lemon computer and it's not W10 causing all these headaches you have?
     
  4. Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,905
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
    I don't believe so. This Acer PC Laptop was already nearly two years old when I upgraded to Windows 10. The login display issue only began after the major Windows 10 update last summer, but it seemed to go away with a subsequent update not long after that. However, in the last few weeks, this issue has returned with a vengeance, and it has been a lot worse, of late, with this lack of login display now occurring nearly every time I boot up!

    It seems odd to me that NOBODY else has reported having this issue, but so it goes!

    CHEERS! :)
     
  5. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    440
    Real Name:
    Alfie
    Is this the issue?

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-power/sign-in-box-missing-from-windows-10-login-page/fc44d277-faba-40f2-902d-1ccf0bd2a5ea

    similar

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-performance/password-box-missing-on-windows-10-login-screen/584819c5-ed48-4e28-b9bc-3d4ab51e19ed


    I was able to resolve the issue.
    Pressing shift button and restart took me to the screen where it gave you the option to choose the "Troubleshoot". I clicked on the Troubleshoot > Advanced options > Startup Settings > Restart.
    When it is restarted, it gave me the option to enter the safe mode. After booting the machine with safe mode, it prompted the password to login.
    I logged in and uncheck the "safe boot". Now, it prompted to enter password to login.
     
  6. Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,905
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
  7. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    440
    Real Name:
    Alfie
    Glad to help. :)
     
  8. Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,905
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
    It turns out that at least some of my recent issues may have been due to a damaged (Admittedly somewhat self-inflicted - 6 GB of RAM simply isn't enough, but I can't justify the expense of upgrading it by a mere 2 GB to my Acer Laptop's maximum 8 GB capability!) mouse. The middle wheel on my old Microsoft wireless mouse hadn't worked in quite some time, for starters. On our limited budget, I simply didn't consider replacing it a priority, as it appeared to be otherwise fully functional. In fact, I thought that some of my recent problems might have been due to an external USB hub.

    What happened was, about a week before Christmas, my wife picked up a new Logitech wireless mouse, as she thought her "old" Microsoft wireless mouse was no longer working, but in fact, simply needed a fresh battery. It is that Logitech mouse that I'm currently using. While not perfect, performing basic functions does seem to be less of a headache, at the moment.

    CHEERS! :)
     
  9. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    17,980
    Likes Received:
    1,544
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    My media computer is working well, except that it won't sleep. If I manually put it in sleep mode, it resumes a couple seconds later. I've done some simple testing (closing out Emby Server, closing Edge, uninstalling iCloud) and can't isolate the cause. So I'm thinking of going nuclear: wiping the C: drive and reinstalling everything from Win10 up. The side benefit of this is eliminating detritus from installing and uninstalling various applications as I searched for the right software suite to control my HTPC.
     
  10. 670 Feb 15, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2017
    Tony Bensley

    Tony Bensley Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,905
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Location:
    North Bay, ON; Canada
    Real Name:
    Anthony
    Well. a little more than 2 months after I originally posted the text above, it appears that my 2 TB Seagate Drive has indeed failed! :(

    Over the past few days, the Seagate Drive either doesn't read at all, or otherwise displays as "Local Disk ( J: )" on my PC Device list. Either way, I have zero access. Along with the usual fiddling around with the USB 3.0 port, I've tried using alternate ports and USB wires, but nothing seems to work.

    I know that Hard Drives aren't supposed to be forever, but that Seagate Drive was by far my most expensive and newest (Less than 3 years old!), not to mention my largest capacity Hard Drive, external or otherwise. To be honest, this is going to severely hurt for awhile, especially as I cannot afford a replacement! This just royally sucks!! :( :(

    EDIT: Of course, after I typed this post, my Seagate Drive just suddenly became accessible again! Maybe my system is populated by Gremlins? :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page