Windows Vista RC1 Now Available

Chris

Lead Actor
Joined
Jul 4, 1997
Messages
6,788
Reaction score
0
Points
0

Ron, what PDA do you have? I've had -zero- problems synching with my iPaq or Blackberry. ??
 

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Joined
Jul 3, 1997
Messages
55,551
Reaction score
11,266
Points
9,110
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
I have a 2003 Toshiba Pocket PC e755.

From what I have read across the Internet, most devices will not
synch with RC1 and that an update is due to be made to the Windows
Mobile Device Center (formerly known as activesynch).
 

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Joined
Jul 3, 1997
Messages
55,551
Reaction score
11,266
Points
9,110
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
Bryan,

Got it!

Can we actually burn DVDs with Vista? Now that I am running Vista
I am wondering if NERO or ROXIO will work on RC1 so I can burn the
image file.
 

Bryan X

Producer
Joined
Feb 10, 2003
Messages
3,469
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Real Name
Bryan
I'm not sure yet. I couldn't get Roxio to work on Vista RC1 5728 so I downloaded the file to one of my PCs running XP and burned the ISO file on that PC. I've got RC2 installed now and will try later today to get Roxio to work. I'm not holding my breath though.
 

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Joined
Jul 3, 1997
Messages
55,551
Reaction score
11,266
Points
9,110
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
Bryan,

Do you immediately see any improvements in RC2?

Also, Microsoft has just made available Windows Mobile
Device Center for RC1/RC2 in a separate download. I am
at work right now, but if anyone is interested, I can supply
the link later this afternoon.
 

Bryan X

Producer
Joined
Feb 10, 2003
Messages
3,469
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Real Name
Bryan
I haven't really had a chance to look at it. I started the install late last night and then went to bed. I just got up this morning to check to see if it installed correctly (which it did). I should have some time today to check it out, but on the surface I don't see much difference. But I didn't really notice any difference between 5600 and 5728.

I did try to install Zone Alarm and it still doesn't work. However when Vista asked to check online to see if there was any solutions to the incompatibility, I said yes, and within a few seconds it came back telling me there were no solutions currently. On builds 5600 and 5728 I would click yes and it would stay on the 'checking for solutions online' window forever... I'd have to cancel the action. So that seems to be fixed.

I've hread Windows Update didn't work with 5600 and 5728 so maybe that's an indication that it does with 5744.
 

Sami Kallio

Screenwriter
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
1,035
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I downloaded the 32b (64b was not available), does anyone have MD5 checksum for it? I had trouble installing it so if someone could run MD5 on their image which installed successfully I would appreciate it.
 

Bryan X

Producer
Joined
Feb 10, 2003
Messages
3,469
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Real Name
Bryan
Last I looked a few hours ago 64-bit was available from the same page as the 32-bit version.
 

Paul_Sjordal

Supporting Actor
Joined
May 29, 2003
Messages
831
Reaction score
0
Points
0

Yeah, this is what I'm worried about with Vista and DirectX 9 games. Has anyone else tried DirectX 9 games under Vista? Is the story any different under 32-bit Vista?
 

Sami Kallio

Screenwriter
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
1,035
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Yes, it is now (wasn't when I downloaded the 32-bit earlier). I will download it and try what happens.
 

Michael D. Bunting

Screenwriter
Joined
Jun 9, 1999
Messages
1,828
Reaction score
0
Points
110
Real Name
Michael
I'm re-tackling this today; One quick question...

Are there any FREE ISO maker programs out there that will let you burn the ISO file to a DVD?

I have tried Magic ISO Maker - but the trail version will not let you burn something this big.

Thanks...
 

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Joined
Jul 3, 1997
Messages
55,551
Reaction score
11,266
Points
9,110
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
Michael,

Try Alcohol 120%

You can download it here

Question....

Once activated, how long is RC2 good for before its license expires?

I'm hoping this goes far past a 2-week trial.
 

mattCR

Executive Producer
Reviewer
Joined
Oct 5, 2005
Messages
10,897
Reaction score
668
Points
9,110
Location
Lee Summit, Missouri
Real Name
Matt
180 days
 

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Joined
Jul 3, 1997
Messages
55,551
Reaction score
11,266
Points
9,110
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
RC2 is a HUGE improvement over RC1.

More programs work this time around, including...

* Yahoo Widgets
* Media Center (had audio dropout problems with RC1)

Strangely, this version did not ship with Soundblaster Audigy2
drivers, but I was easily able to download them.

Media Center has a real nifty setup video that you should watch!

Most importantly, with the addition of Windows Mobile Device Center
(available in a separate download), I can now synch my PDA effortlessly
with Microsoft Outlook.

The only problem I am having is auto-loading the EZ Anti-Virus
program. Windows seems to block it every time it loads despite
the fact that I have asked it not to. This may be due to the
antivirus software being geared towards earlier release candidates.

Thus far, I'm quite happy with RC2. It seems very close to what
a final release could look like.

Programs that now do work with RC1

Yahoo Widgets
PDA/Mobile phone synchronization via separate WMD download


Programs that do not work with RC1

Logitech Webcam - no drivers available, Logitech says by end of year.
EZ Trust Anti-Virus - works, but windows blocks it at startup. You must unblock manually.
Soundblaster Audigy - works, but not for complete surround setup. Drivers expire November.
 

Paul_Sjordal

Supporting Actor
Joined
May 29, 2003
Messages
831
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Ron, does the Audigy 2 driver for Vista-64 handle more than two speakers yet?
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
343,726
Messages
4,688,153
Members
141,022
Latest member
kanchibrneha