What's new

LCD Rear Projection Bulb? (1 Viewer)

Jim*P

Auditioning
I am seriously considering buying a Sony Grand WEGA KDF-42A10. It is a rear projection television which I have no experience with. The salesman is trying to sell me on their extended warranty (of course) which normally I find to be a waste of money. The pitch he is using is that these TV's use bulbs similar to the front projects and the bulbs burn out every 2000-4000 hours. If I purchase this extended warranty (2 years = $219.99/ 4 years = $399.99) then the chances are it would be the same price as just one bulb with installation. His final pitch which he was not willing to put in writing is that just before my warranty ends if I still have not needed a bulb they will send me one for free! My question is, do these bulb burn out as frequent as the front projectors? Would you purchase the warranty?

Thanks as always!

Jim

Steve Berger

Supporting Actor
While lamp failure tends to be rather random, Sony estimates that a lamp will drop to half brightness at about 8000 hours. The RPTV lamps are much lower wattage than front projectors; about 100 watts rather than 200 or more; giving them much longer lifespans. (in theory)

The lamp for your set lists (full price) for $199 and is a user replaceable item. (door on front)

Leo Kerr

Screenwriter
It's a bit surprising, too: generally warrantees don't cover lamps, or if they do, they're really limited.

Most of the lamps we have at work have the following sort of conditions applied:

1. Warrantee claim must be made within 1 year of purchase. Not opening the box, but actual purchase. (As we have 7 projectors that all use the same lamp, and estimate using 21 lamps/year, we stock spares.)

2. Lamp warrantee covers replacement for "premature failure" - less than 500 hours, and then prorated down to 1200 hours or so. (Nominal 2000 hour lamps. We've never gotten more than 1600 useful hours out of 'em.)