Can AVIA calibrate HD 1080i?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Roger Kint, Jan 10, 2003.

  1. Roger Kint

    Roger Kint Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just got HDTV on my XBR and been noticing that the picture is exremely bright, probably because there are a lot more lines of resolution lighting up the screen, expecially on hockey games(ice= white!).

    I've calibrated the set using AVIA and my DVD player, but that is 480p. Is there a way to calibrate for 1080i material?
     
  2. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    You will want to get Digital Video Essentials which is coming out in June 2003. I know that is a bit of a wait but I plan on buying this little jem to do my HDTV calibraiton as well. I also am using AVIA currently although I only have the FPTV setup for 480i/480p right now.
     
  3. Kevin P

    Kevin P Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    What will DVE have (that Avia doesn't) that allows for HDTV calibration? In any case you'd need to upconvert the 480i or 480p signal from your DVD player to 540p or 1080i and feed it into your HDTV. I know some HD STBs can do this by feeding your DVD player into a VCR, then feeding the cable coax into the STB, but I don't know if all STBs can do this.

    I know some ISF calibrators (Michael TLV, Gregg Loewen) have HD signal generators they use to calibrate the HD inputs. They have VE/Avia like patterns built in and they output a 1080i (or 720p) signal.

    KJP
     

Share This Page