What's new
World Wide Stereo

Projector Aspect-Ratio Issue (1 Viewer)

onetwentydb

Auditioning
Real Name
Chris
I'm rather new to Home Theater, but I know my way around my components, and not completely clueless in the ways of sound and video.

I'm now in the process of preparing to paint a screen on my wall for my projector, but I'm having a bit of an issue with the aspect ratio it displays. I have a Benq DLP SL705X XGA Projector, here's the feature list from Amazon:
:
>DLP Technology for superior picture quality
>Native 1,024 x 768, compatible up to 1,280 x 1,024
>1,100 ANSI superior brightness, clarity, and color reproduction
>Lightweight, only 3.8 pounds
>Wide-angle lens for a larger picture from a shorter distance (60-inch image from under 7 feet)
>600:1 ultra-high contrast delivering a sharper image with a greater depth of color
>Manual zoom lens to stay in focus from any distance
>Digital keystone restores a trapezoidal image caused by a tilted projection angle back to a perfect rectangular shape
>P-Scan (progressive scan) technology for improved picture clarity
>HDTV compatible, 720P or 1080I and a 4:3 or 16:9 aspect ratio
>10x digital zoom and pan for small text
>Auto-Key automatically adjusts image and eliminates complex menu settings
>Ultra-slim remote control
>Presentation wizard remote control with built-in laser pointer and page scrolling functions
>3-year limited warranty, reliability guaranteed.
>Free first year Hot Swap service

The projector is a few years old, and doesn't have component in jacks, it just has a 15-pin D-sub connector. I bought a cable for my PS3 (which I'm using as a media-center) that has a D-sub jack so I could plug it into my projector, and it works! But it only displays in the 4:3 aspect-ratio, with everything in the picture kind of squeezed up horizontally. Now, I'm pretty sure HDTVs were never made to display anything but 16:9 widescreen (I might be wrong), and the D-sub jack on my projector is labeled "PC / HDTV."