What's new

Old sony 35" in need of some repair (1 Viewer)

EricTut

Grip
Hey gang-

I have an old 35" Sony TV. Its the series that came before the XBR and Wega stuff... Piano black case, flat glass top to bottom, but curves left to right.

Anyhow, it has had this wonderful trait the past few years; it will occasionally stop firing the tube. When I had sound running through it (runs through my onkyo amp now) I noticed the sound would still be on. Its like the tube just shuts down.

If I turn it off and right on again, it sits there and tries to turn on the tube, but cant. If I wait awhile, the problem wil subside. If I get all Fonzy on it... I spank the TV from the side, no joke... it comes back fine, and wont shut down for a few weeks or so.

TV has a great picture, and I want an HD flatty, but I dont have the money now- maybe in 6 months or so.

I would however like to keep this TV around. I am looking for any advice in repairing it myself. I am a PC techie by trade, also do a fair amount of electrical work on my house. My weekend project is running 2 coax lines from the box, and one phone line to the same TV setup- for my Tivo due monday. Yay Tivo!

Speaking of, if anyone wnats $50 off the price of a tivo from directv... call up cust service and ask for the deal. When they say no, ask for customer retention department. Man, did that work out nicely. Tivo, new reciever for other room, delivered and installed for $65 total.

Back on subject- anyone work on these Sonys? I have a hard time believing this is more than a single part failing, probably has bad connects that are affected by humidity or temp, or both, and is tough to swap out.

Thanks for any ideas guys!

Eric

PS- I asked about this a long long time ago, maybe in another forum, cant remember, and someone told me it was a single part replacement. However, the problem stopped for months, so I forgot about it entirely. Just wanna keep the ol' gal running for a wee bit longer. :)

Steve Berger