What's new

Care and repair and maintenance of our extinct plasma TV’s, just to keep them going a little longer. (1 Viewer)

Nelson Au

Senior HTF Member
Hey guys, I thought I’d start up a new thread on Plasma TV’s. As they are an extinct breed now, it seems a shame to let the ones still around die off. The reason I had this thought for a thread is I noticed other members have plasma sets that have died and are seeking repair advise as well as advise on replacements. I have two plasmas and one just died and I’m seeking repair advise too, but more on that later.

So why not start a thread on the maintenance and care for plasma sets. Maybe even relate our experiences with repairs and seeking a shop for repairs.

This is not meant as a thread that eschews the benefits of newer technology. I’m a tech guy, so I’m one who upgrades when the time is right. In fact I am now exploring which OLED set to get next. I’m leaning towards the newest Sony due out in the next two months. This is an Home Theater site, so we’re all going after the best home cinema experience.

What prompted this again is that I saw two members post about plasmas dying. As they are 3D capable, that’s another reason to see if they can be saved to work a little longer before it really is too far gone. So I’ll start and describe my experience so far.

My first plasma is the Pioneer PRO-1130HD that’s 50”. It was one of the better sets in its day when I got it in 2006. This set has an external media and receiver box. This is good as it made it easier to service.

AB36D8E6-80D8-4388-BD32-66683EB908F6.jpeg