What's new

New guy questions about speakers/set-up (1 Viewer)

Abe Rodrigue

Stunt Coordinator
Hello, I am just starting to get into HT. I am looking into setting up my first system. What I have in mind is something like this:

Receiver: Denon 3805
Fronts: Klipsch RB-35
Front center: Klipsch RC-35
Rear left and right: Jamo 10.521K4 (in ceiling)
Rear center: Jamo 10.5K4 (in ceiling)
Sub: SVS 20-39 PCi

The room that my system will be in is 15' wide and about 30'long. I will be sitting across the short dimension of the room. It is in my basement with 8' ceilings. I also will have a wet bar at one end of the long dimension and a pool table at the other end of the long side of the room. One last thing is that this will all be put into a built-in entertainment center. Face fronts around the TV (about a 51"-57"), and around the speakers. And cabinets on both sides of the TV with the speakers above the cabinets (eye level) and above the TV.

Remember guys, I am a total newbie so take it easy on me if something that I did is totally crazy. Thanks in advance for all the help.

P.S. I have a picture of the ET center, but don't have a clue as to how to post it.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
The speakers will be in the cabinet at eye level when seated or standing? Ideally, the speakers should be at ear/eye level when SEATED for movie/music listening. You can work around this by angling the speakers slightly down towards the listening position if they are above.

Nothing wrong with the Jamos, IMO. Matching surrounds is not as critical as matching mains. If you could get Klipsch in-walls for about the same price, the blend would obviously be better though, but I would say not to stress over it.

With built in cabinets, I strongly recommend you look at how you are going to connect all your gear, something that is often overlooked. It can be a pain in the butt when you need to hook up or swap out new gear.

Abe Rodrigue

Stunt Coordinator