What's new

beginner DIY speakers & sub (1 Viewer)

Stephen_Rob

Stunt Coordinator
I am sure this question has been asked before but I am new.
What is a good DIY speaker set for beginners I also want a a DIY sub and was thinking of a tempest. Is this a good choice?

A

Anthony_Gomez

Answer these two questions, and you will get lots of help.

What are your design goals? WHat is the budget?

Stephen_Rob

Stunt Coordinator
I am a student so I am on a low budget around $1000 for both. I am not sure what you mean by design goals but I will be listening to music more then anything. if that helps also I would like the speakers as small as possible.
I am also looking at paradigm atoms but I thought that If I go the DIY route I could get better quality.

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
Hehe, $1000 should finish you a pair of GR Research AV1+ speakers ($300 for the kit) and a sealed Shiva or Tempest based sub (say $125-$150 for the driver and $300 for a HS200 plate amp, this amp has a nice 4th order crossover built in). Enclosure construction for both is relatively simple (this leaves you $250 for the enclosures, little tight, you can always leave pretty finish till you get more money). The only tricky part will be assembling the crossovers for the AV1+ speakers.

For reference to quality of this setup in comparison to the Paradigm Atom. Matrice on this forum replaced PSB Stratus Goldi towers with AV1+ bookshelves and a Tempest based sub and he's glad he did.

John Parris

Stunt Coordinator
If you're new to crossovers or circuit design in general, you might want to aim for a kit that comes with a pre-assembled kit or at least a semblance... like a printed circuit board that comes with the parts.