What's new

480p direct-view CRT's - perfect for most people? (1 Viewer)

I've been thinking. In my experience no LCD or Plasma or DLP or projection-type system has been able to match the overall visual quality I get with good direct-view CRTs. It's the same with computer monitors and televisions. I'm no expert but I know that's been my experience so far. It's always the colors and black-levels that look so much better to me on direct-view CRTs.

Now, I like most people think HD is pretty spectacular. But I don't watch TV. Yes, I know this may seem strange to many of you. At first it was a budget thing. But after a year and a half, I really don't care any more. I'm a movie guy. I do like a lot of those HBO shows like Sopranos and Oz, but I can watch those on DVD. Which brings me to 480p.

I'm going to buy a new TV. It must be able to do 480p. I love DVDs. I love my Xbox. 480p is clearly where it is at. I have no use for 720p or 1080i. I know there are a few Xbox games that support those HD resolutions, but it's only like a couple. And of course there's that D-VHS medium. But I'm not going back to a tape-based medium with rewinding and all that garbage.

I am looking forward to HD-DVD. I hope it is a 1080p format. Interlaced video really needs to die. Whenever that comes around, and we have to replace all our current DVDs, only then will I get a HD set.

So I'm going around the world to get to it, but here's my question. What TV models meet these requirements? -

1)480p

2)16x9-enhanced squeeze mode

3)Direct-view flat screen CRT

4)27 inch screen or less

5)4x3 aspect ratio

The only model I've found that meets my requirements is a Samsung model. It looks nice, but I'd like some other options and just general opinions on what I've said here. Thanks.

Bryan X

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Bryan
If you don't watch TV and are a movie guy, why on earth would you want a 4:3? Why not go with a 16:9 direct view CRT?