1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Your biggest issue(s) with HD DVD player?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Robert Crawford, Jun 24, 2006.

  1. Robert Crawford

    Robert Crawford Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1998
    Messages:
    46,100
    Likes Received:
    21,847
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Real Name:
    Robert
    If it's not automatically upconverting SD-DVDs from the player's HDMI output to your Toshiba then you have an issue.




    Crawdaddy
     
  2. Paul Arnette

    Paul Arnette Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My biggest gripe with the Toshiba HD-A1 is that you cannot use the zoom feature on non-anamorphic material.
     
  3. Reginald Trent

    Reginald Trent Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Maybe I need to make myself clearer. The Toshibas did not recognize/play the dual layer verbatim DVD I tried to play. So it can't upconvert what it wont play. However, it does play most everything else. I'm giving this a lot of thought before my 30 days are up. As I said this may be a deal breaker
     
  4. Larry Sutliff

    Larry Sutliff Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reginald, it sounds like you have a defective unit. Try exchanging it for another HD-A1 and see what happens.
     
  5. Vader

    Vader Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 1999
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    610
    Real Name:
    Derek

    It does seem to be title dependant. While none of my HD-DVDs currently support the feature, when calibrating via DVE (in 480p; not upscaled), I would run the pink noise, make note of the needed adjustments, and enter setup when the player is paused at the test tone menu. I would make the adjustments, and exit setup. The player would then restart DVE at the same menu screen I left. But then on "U-571" (in 1080i), if I hit the stop button once, I just get "Playback Stopped" on the screen, and even the resume button won't bring me back; I have to restart the disc using "Play"....?
     
  6. Phil Iturralde

    Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 1998
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    I noticed the same thing with DVE and other SD DVDs. The HD-A1 has built-in memory space for the SD DVD and allows you to 'Stop' (press once only) and enter the "Setup" menu without loosing your 'Stopped/Paused' spot. Once you turn-off the HD-A1, then the memorized 'Stopped/Paused' spot is erased.

    HD DVDs does not have the SD DVD 'Stopped/Paused' memory space options, but certain HD DVDs has the option to ''bookmark your movie.

    The only HD DVD that I own that has that option, ... basically where I can use the 'bookmark' function is "The Phantom of the Opera" - Warner Bros.

    It seems that the 'bookmark' area has an unlimited number of 'bookmarks'! By the time I figured out how it worked, I had over 36 bookmarks when all I wanted was a 4th bookmark**. After I figured it out, I erased the extra 32 bookmarks and everything was back to cool, ... instead of yikes, ... what's going on?!?!?

    **Those 'bookmarks' remains in memory even if you eject your HD DVD - cool!

    Phil
     
  7. David Ely

    David Ely Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 1998
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Two issues.

    1) The player is very picky when there's the slightest bit of dust on the disk.They seem to be improving this through updates though.

    2) Incorrect colorspace being passed for HDMI -> DVI connections.
     
  8. compson

    compson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Biggest problem: It doesn't pillar box nonanamorphic discs through component outputs. As a result, I don't use it for old movies. I really wish this were different.
     
  9. Edwin-S

    Edwin-S Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    8,376
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    The slow load time is a little annoying.
    A message pops up when a DVD is put into the machine which tells you that upconversion is prohibited. I hate it. It angers me to be constantly reminded that a bunch of Hollywood studio f#[email protected] have decided that I cannot watch uprezzed versions of the movies I have bought. Every time I see it I want to rip the machine out and smash it against the wall. I wish I could turn it off.
    A couple of small audio/visual glitches (v1.2 firmware) but nothing major yet.
    Relative lack of decent content. Garbage like the "The Grinch Who Stole Christmas" and "Chronicles of Riddick" isn't going to cut it for long.
     
  10. mfabien

    mfabien Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Michel Fabien

    How did you create the Bookmarks and how did you removed them, if I may ask?
     
  11. Phil Iturralde

    Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 1998
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110

    The following is for "The Phantom of the Opera":

    All "Selections" via HD-A1 Remote
    1) To create a 'Bookmark' while your watching the movie:
    .... a) Press "B"
    ........ 1. Located in the last group of 4 horizontal shape buttons on the bottom.
    ........ 2. NOTE: Press "A" to Zoom (toggles: 2X, 4X, 8X, NORMAL)

    2) To VIEW or DELETE 'Bookmark':
    .... a) Press "Menu"
    .... b) Select "SCENE SELECTIONS"
    .... c) Using the "UP" & "RIGHT" arrow keys, Select "BOOKMARKS" (top line & right side of the menu)
    .... d) Press the "DOWN" arrow key, use "LEFT" or "RIGHT" arrow keys to Select the 'Bookmarked' Scene
    ........ 1. Bookmark Scene Icon looks like a Film Strip, each one is numbered
    .... e) Once the 'Bookmarked' Scene Number is Selected, you have 2 options:
    ........ 1. To VIEW: Press "OK" key, then go to Step 'f'
    ........ 2. To DELETE: While the Film Strip is highlighted, use "DOWN" arrow key and highlight "DELETE" below the Film Strip, then Press "OK" key
    .... f) To EXIT: Press "Menu".

    Phil
     
  12. JoeBloomberg

    JoeBloomberg Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So far the only two would be bootup/disc read time and the remote.

    The remote for me isnt really an issue since I use my Harmony, but still its a terrible remote.

    Bootup is just way long, but the beauty of the picture makes up for that. [​IMG]
     
  13. Dave Moritz

    Dave Moritz Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    7,809
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    California
    Real Name:
    Dave Moritz
    Other than the Dolby True HD track droping out while watching a movie I am very happy with my Toshiba HD-A1. It does a very good job at upconverting SD-DVD's so even if the format does not last I will keep it for the HD discs I allready own and for watching dvd's.
     
  14. ppltd

    ppltd Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Real Name:
    Thomas Eisenmann
    I agree with the bootup time, and the 2.0 patch did little to improve it. But the backlit (shake it and it lights up) remote (Toshiba HD-XA1) is kind-of-a-cool, retro sort-of, door-stop sized remote that I really, really like. Actually I find the remote to be a pretty bad design. It is poorly layed out, hard to read (even with backlighting), and because of it's motion sensor, keeps lighting up whenever the a moderate to loud piece of soudtrack plays.

    But all is forgiven when the movie starts.

    The bootup time I will get used to and the remote I will soon replace.

    Thomas Eisenmann
     
  15. MarcoAD

    MarcoAD Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only thing for me is the remote so far. Luckily I have a Harmony 880 so even that is a minor problem. Otherwise it has worked flawlessly for me going HDMI to my Onkyo SR803 and then to the TV. Best money I've spent in a long time.
     

Share This Page