What's new

Why isn't Electronic Banking Istantaneous? (1 Viewer)

Jeff_HR

Senior HTF Member
I have a credit card company that when I make an online electronic payment does not "post" the payment until Midnight of the next day if I make the "electronic payment" after 3PM EST, and they don't make the funds available until the day after that. To my own logical way of thinking, this is absurd! It seems to me that an electronic transaction should move the funds instantaneously from one account to another with no PHONEY delays.

Someone with banking knowledge please explain this system to me. Thank you.

Mike Slade

Second Unit
I believe in bank card processing there isn't much realtime processing for posting and most, if not all, is a batch process once a day.

SteveA

Supporting Actor
I'm not a banking expert, but I believe there are two different types of transfers: ACH transfers and wire transfers. ACH transfers are what most electronic bill payments and direct deposits use. They take at least one business day, I think. Wire transfers are pretty much instantaneous.

Chris Bardon

Senior HTF Member
I think it's just a matter of communication between different banking networks being batched for efficiency. Rather than keep live links open all the time, these transactions are done in an overnight batch process. Keep in mind that in my experience, the banks are probably working with 10 or 15 year old technology on their back end, so "live" updates might not be that plausable.

It's still not a bad system though-at least you CAN do everything electronically. I haven't carried any cash regularly for at least five years.

mark alan

Supporting Actor
Funny how they don't post transfers in immediately, but they sure do on withdrawals and electronic transfers out.