What's new

System comparison at $4000 (1 Viewer)

Robert EW

Grip
Hi Everyone,

I am a HT newbie and this is my first posting. After reading forums for 2 weeks I spent this last weekend looking for my first system. On Saturday I started with 2 budgets in mind ($2,000 or $4,000). By Sunday I was at $4,000 and not looking back since sales tax and connections are going to throw me past $4000.

The reality is I would have been quite happy at $2,000 but I just can't help myself when it comes to upgrading.

I committed myself to the Denon 3802 before even seeing it. I figured that would make my decision process that much easier. Unfortunately trying to make an apples to apples comparison is practically impossible. Either I could not use the Denon 3802 each time or the rooms for comparison purposes were quite different with one setup in the middle of a wide open store.

Having said that I am considering 2 different systems with 2 different receivers. The first system includes a Definitive speaker setup with internal subs. This allows me to compromise with the wife over speaker size vs no external sub.

I would love any opinions you might have on the 2 different systems including pricing. In addition, I would appreciate opinions on internal subs since system 1 has 2-12 inch subs in the front towers and 1 sub in the center channel.

System 1 includes:

Denon 3802

Def Tech BP 2002 TL (black finish)

Def Tech CLR 2500 (black finish)

Def Tech BP1X2

The price I am shooting for on this system would be $3800 (MSRP $4400) The store is running a system price of $3,000 for a BP 2004TL, CLR 2300, BP1x2, & Denon 3802 (sounded very nice). The sales person has already agreed to sub in the BP 2002TL for an extra $600 and I would ask him to sub in the CLR 2000 for an extra $200. I am still going back and forth on upgrading the rears (BP1X2). How important are the rears to upgrade.

Now For system 2:

Marantz SR8200

B&W 603

B&W LR 600

B&W Sub 600 (I think?)I know it priced at $600