What's new

Home Theatre choices...help needed! (1 Viewer)

Edi-no-son

Grip
Real Name
Edmond
Hey guys! I’m from down south in Australia.
Firstly, I’m a noob with all this audio visual stuff, hence why I need your help lolz.
My dad has given me the privilege to deal with the ‘about to be built’ home theater system. We have been given two price quotes, and the price difference is like $10000aud.
Honestly, I have nooo idea the difference, and how it will sound, and what is good n what isn’t. The only info is what I can find on the net, but since there is no direct comparison between the 2 products I have been quoted, I don’t know what I’m looking at (esp all the nitty gritter specs)
So here I am rambling on…. What I really want to know is:
What is the difference between the products in my 2 different quotes? Should I with one over the other? Honestly, my family isn’t fully fussed about how the high or low db each product can produce. All we’re after is a good sounding package that will delivery for watching movies and maybe listening to music without the crappy fuzzy sound if pumped up too loud.
Anyway all that crap talk… now for the products!!
One sided had quoted us a brand called Revel for speakers, Denon headunit, pioneer dvd, Mitsubishi projector and screen technique screen.
•Denon AVR4308 AV receiver - $4900
•Revel F32A front left and right speakers - $7900
•Revel C32 centre speaker - $3600
•2x Revel B12 subwoofer - $4200
•Revel S12 surround speakers (on wall) – 2 pairs - $4200
•Pioneer BDLX71 DVD player - $1300
•Mitsubishi 5500 full HD 1080p projector - $3500
•Screen Techniques fixed frame screen 110” - $2500
This came to a total of $32100aud

Honestly, The DVD player and the front left n right speakers seem like a massive overkill, but I’ll let you guys tell me if they are or not lolz

The other quote is totally different:
•Integra DTR 8.8 Receiver - $4000
•Sonance LCR - $4125 ($1375 each)
•Sonance VP65s - $1450 ($725 each)
•Sonance sub - $1485