What's new

Review of Ah! 4000 CDP w Upsampling Board (Long) (1 Viewer)

Doug_B

Screenwriter
Table of Contents

Introduction
Schematic of System
Preparation
Initial Impressions
More Impressions
Summary

Introduction

I have been an owner of the Ah! Njoe Tjoeb 4000 CD player for over a year. My system was finally in a position to make best use of the TjoUpsampler 24 bit / 192 kHz upsampling board that became available for this unit (from Upscale Audio, of course) approx. last September. Being swept into the fever to continuously upgrade, I ordered the board, and it has been in my player since early April.

Before I get into the review, the usual disclaimers apply: reviewing audio components is not a pastime for me, I have no golden ear (got back into music within the last 2 years after a long hiatus), and I have little experience with other components. I do have a Sony CDP which was very helpful for comparison purposes, though.

As any Ah! 4000 owner knows, just saying that I have an Ah! 4000 is insufficient to properly identify it. The upsampling board is just one of the tweaks that can differentiate specific instances of the unit. The other aspects of my Ah! include the following:

Amperex 7308 tubes
Upgraded AC cord
Upgraded Digital output (which I don't use)

My HT/audio equipment list can be viewed via my signature link. However, probably more useful is the schematic below of the reviewed 2 channel portion of the system, which includes the Sony SCD C555ES SACD changer.

An apparently popular upgrade to the stock 6922 tubes of the Ah! are the Siemens 7308 tubes. At the time of purchase, Kevin Deal of Upscale Audio suggested that the Amperex version of these tubes would provide for a warmer sound, which is what I was looking for as a potentially better complement to my ribbon-based speakers. I do not recall if Kevin mentioned any other differences between the Amperex tubes and the Siemens, though. To this point, I have used the Amperex tubes exclusively.