What's new

marantz sr7012 Component Video Out not working (1 Viewer)

NickIsTheMan1313

Auditioning
Joined
Oct 2, 2019
Messages
4
Location
Orlando Florida
Real Name
Nick
I have a tv mounted over a fireplace that has component cables run with too costly of a drywall repair job at the moment to run hdmi and I am not getting any picture output. I have the component cables connected to the monitor/zone2 with the settings set to Main Zone. Does anyone have any advice as I am stumped to why I am not getting any picture and our friend "google" has not turned up any hints.

My first post so thanks for any troubleshooting advice from Marantz owners

Realized I should have posted this in AV Recievers section sorry and thanks
 
Last edited:

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Supporter
Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
14,903
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
I suspect it has to have component video coming in to provide component out. I expect you have hdmi coming in. It’s a guess. I also have an SR7012 in my living room system, but no real way to test it. You really do want to try to get hdmi set up if you can.
 

NickIsTheMan1313

Auditioning
Joined
Oct 2, 2019
Messages
4
Location
Orlando Florida
Real Name
Nick
Thank you for the quick response. We have an old 1950's home we bought and that side of the house has no attic access and being in Florida we have no crawl space which means cutting holes in the ceiling. They must have run this cable prior to remodel as that ceiling is drywall not plaster. My wife sits in this room and wants tv and with the SR7012 matrix ability would be awesome for her.

Still hoping its a setting but I am going to run a new component cable to see if its a cable issue. Still not sure why they would have the out if you cant map it properly?
 

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Supporter
Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
14,903
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
My point is, the receiver will convert analog video in to hdmi out, but I doubt it will convert hdmi video in to analog video out. There are content management limitations that prevent that.
 

NickIsTheMan1313

Auditioning
Joined
Oct 2, 2019
Messages
4
Location
Orlando Florida
Real Name
Nick
Yes I have an Nvidia shield and DirecTv box as well as bluray player all as HDMI in and yes was hoping to output that main zone video with component out
 

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Supporter
Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
14,903
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
I don't think current receivers convert hdmi to analog video. I could be wrong...
 

xx Brian xx

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Messages
237
Real Name
Brian
Sorry to say this but John is right. Page 299 of the manual shows a conversion chart and the HDMI signal going in can only be sent out on HDMI. What about getting a wireless HDMI sending unit from IOGEAR or Actiontec. I have been using one for two years with a security camera feed and no issues the whole time.

Brian
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Latest Articles

Forum statistics

Threads
348,456
Messages
4,846,013
Members
142,321
Latest member
TurtlePen
Recent bookmarks
0
Top