What's new

LG TV audio will not play through reciever. (2 Viewers)

R315r4z0r

Auditioning
Real Name
Richard
I've been racking my brain around this for way longer than I care to admit and it's really frustrating me. I am no expert in this field, but I'm also not completely illiterate.

First, what I'm using:
TV: LG 65UH6030-UH
Receiver: Yamaha YHT-5920UBL

So, I have a setup with various devices (bluray player, game consoles, HTPC, CD player, turntable, etc). All of these devices work great; I use them and the audio works as it should through the receiver (proper 5.1). However, whenever I try to output audio directly from the TV, it simply doesn't work. Basically, passing audio through the TV and to the receiver works, but trying to play audio directly from the TV does not.

Use cases for TV audio (cases where audio will not play through the receiver):
-Using a streaming service through an app on the smart TV.
-Playing an old game console connected to the TV via RCA cables.

IMPORTANT NOTE: the audio DOES play if I enable the TV's internal speakers. But it only plays through the TV's speakers, not the 5.1 surround. It's only when I try to pass it to the receiver does it go silent.

TV is connected to the receiver via HDMI-ARC. All ARC settings (or in LG's case "simp-link") are enabled on both the TV and receiver.
The firmware on both the TV and receiver is up to date.
For kicks, I've tried switching through literally every input available on the receiver to see if I mislabeled one but none of them work.

Any advice would be appreciated. If you need any more information about the setup, let me know.

John Dirk

Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
JOHN
Welcome!

Your TV has 2 HDMI inputs, only one of which supports ARC. If you've already ruled that out then I would probably chalk it up to the inconsistent implementation of that particular protocol. Each manufacturer was free to pretty much execute it however they chose.

R315r4z0r

Auditioning