bose sub module to sub pre out?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by EddieMata, Apr 17, 2004.

  1. EddieMata

    EddieMata Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My brother has a lifestyle series 25 but wants to change out his receiver in order to get component video switching to his new tv set. Is it possible to integrate his bose speaker module to the receiver? It currently uses an 8 pin din type cable between the module and the media center that he has.

    I've try to tell him he should just look into buying a separate sub to go with the new reciever. He didn't tell me which model of receiver only that it was a Pioneer. He has replaced his speakers with in-walls from Best Buy, Hometech ht603. Will the Bose module do him any good as a "sub"? If it can be adapted should he then try to connect his new speakers to the outputs on the module?

    THANKS FOR ANY INPUT!!! I know Bose is not the favored system here nor for myself, but he hasn't heard from Bose customer service either?

    THANKS AGAIN!

    Eddie
     
  2. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you strike out here, try hometheaterspot as they've got a bose forum.
     
  3. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To the best of my knowledge there is no way to use the Bose module in a "normal" system. Does it have speaker-level inputs? If so, he might could find a way to re-route the speaker wires through the module. He'd probably be happier with the little Dayton sub for $100 or if he's got the money obviously a Hsu or SVS would be ideal.
     
  4. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    since that "sub" is powered, you'd have to find some way to connect it to the the receiver's pre-outs. does that receiver have pre-outs?
     
  5. EddieMata

    EddieMata Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The receiver does have a sub pre out. However it still a matter of adapting it if at all possible. I've posted up a thread at hometheaterspot as suggested but still no response. Nothing from Bose direct either. I'm with Seth, he should just dish out some money for a differnt sub.

    THANKS YA'LL!
     

Share This Page