What's new

5 channel amp for Paradigm Studio 100's (1 Viewer)

PhillipC

Stunt Coordinator
Hi guys,

Trying to decide between a Parasound 855 (5x85) and a Rotel 1075 (5x120) to hook up to a pair of Paradigm Studio 100's. Price is an issue since I am also looking to upgrade my Denon AVR3300 receiver to an Anthem AVM20 pre.

I am leaning towards the Parasound since I have heard that it's a great combination with the Paradigm's. I'm just worried about the 85 watts running the 100's Evantually I will make them sing with Odyssey monoblocks but for now since I really want the AVM20, will the 855 tide me over?

Thanks

JohnSC

Stunt Coordinator
I am not experienced with the Parasound. I own the 1075 and can attest to its quality in build and sound.

Kevin Alexander

Screenwriter
The way I understand it, there is very little difference between 85X5 and 120X5. Technically, if one of them is underpowered, both of them are. As I understand it, you must double wattage to get a 3db gain in sound.

DaleV

Agent
I'm using a Parasound 2205AT with Studio 40's and it's very nice. You might want to try that amp with the 100's. Also have read here and other places the Sherbourn 1500 works well with the 100's. Just a couple of other options for you to consider. I would think though for the 100's at least consider 200 watts per channel as the very least to go with. Just my opinion.

Alan Pummill

Screenwriter
I'm waiting for a used Carver AV-705X (5 x 125wpc) that I bought off of E-Bay. I will be biamping my Paradigm Monitor 7 fronts with (4) of the channels, and use the fifth channel for my CC-350 center. I paid $550 for the Carver. It is suppose to be a great amp for that money!!

AntonS

Stunt Coordinator
PhillipC,

Studio 100s are pretty big speakers. I haven't really compared different amps, but from reading lots of reviews it looks like the general consensus on Studio 100s is that they need close to 200wpc amp to really open then up, not 100-125wpc (unless you biamp them).