What's new
World Wide Stereo

Zone 2 and Multiple Speakers (1 Viewer)

Mike Zimmerman

Auditioning
I'm a newbie to all this so I'd appreciate any help...

I have a Denon 1803 which has Zone 2 capability. I'm currently using the 6th amp to run 2 speakers I have on my patio. This works well, but I would like to increase to 6 outdoor speakers.

I have an older Sony 5.1 receiver which I could use to power 4 speakers, but I'm not sure if I can get to 6 speakers with this setup. The Sony can handle 2 pair of speakers and has 3 surround channels (if I remember correctly - I've never used this unit). So I should be able to run 2 pair of speakers with no problem, but how do I run the 3rd pair? Can I use the surround channels to accomplish this or is there some other way?

What would be recommended?

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Mike Zimmerman

Auditioning
OK, I'll try this again and hope for a response this time.

I have my Denon 1803 hooked up to the Sony receiver via the Zone 2 line-out. I hope to have 4 speakers running from the Sony. The Denon runs the 5 HT speakers and (I hope) 2 more speakers from the Zone 2 speaker connections. I have the 6th amp on the Denon assigned to the 2nd zone.

I have optical cables running from my Sat Box, DVD, and CD players to the Denon receiver.

So far nothing when I pull all this together. Since there's no digital output to Zone 2 would I need to run coax cables from each of the input sources to the Denon or should the Denon recognize the digital input and send it to the Sony receiver as analog?

Does any of this make sense?