What's new

Can I get 9 Speakers From my 7.1 Receiver? (1 Viewer)

Christian Coulis

Auditioning
Real Name
Christian
It will be clear to you that I am a novice......

I have a 7.1 Pioneer Elite VSX-42. It is a few years old, but works fine for my needs. We are moving and want to use it to hook up to 9 speakers. I am OK if they all run off the same input....it's a large Game / TV / Bar area of the basement. There is no need to play multiple sources between the zones.

Is there a way to do this? Can I split the "Zone 2" speakers and turn them from 2 speakers to 4 without damaging anything? Is there anything I can do besides investing in a new receiver?

I appreciate any input or advice.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Reviewer
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Each channel in a 7.1 receiver does a specific thing. What do you want the extra 2 speakers to do? That receiver doesn't have preamp outputs, so you there will be limitations and potential hazards.

Christian Coulis

Auditioning
Real Name
Christian
Each channel in a 7.1 receiver does a specific thing. What do you want the extra 2 speakers to do? That receiver doesn't have preamp outputs, so you there will be limitations and potential hazards.

Thanks John.
I only want to play music / movies from 1 source at a time through all the speakers. I would also like the option to turn 2 or 4 speakers off at any given time.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Reviewer
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John