What's new

Affordable (Bose?) Center Speaker recommendation for Denon AVR 4800? (2 Viewers)

Sonicgogo

Auditioning
Real Name
John
Hi all, newbie here.

First off, looking for a solid center speaker. I currently have 4 ancient low to mid range tower speakers that honestly sound great, clear, and full, so I'm looking to add at least that quality of sound to a center channel. (2 Kenwoods from a high end stereo and 2 Sears LXI, both 3 way. Still great to my ears even after a degree in audio engineering lmao)

I was browsing looking at the Bose VCS 10 and Horizontal dual cubes since they are the only ones that have old school speaker wire attachments.

My Denon AVR 4800 accepts 6-16 ohm impedance, but the bose wording is weird. On the VCS10, it says compatible with 4-8 ohm systems, but rates it at 6 ohms. I'm aware impedance varies with frequency, so does that mean it would or wouldn't be a fit for my stereo?

The horizontal dual cube with those old school wire clamps has no info I can find anywhere on impedance, though Amazon AI reply said it was 8 ohms.

I'm looking to stay around 50ish bucks on something used, and I just want something that doesn't sound woofy and constricted when 5.1 kicks in like with my tiny Boston speaker. It's bad enough that I turned off the center channel completely and prefer the directionally of 4.1 a lot more ATM. All the dialog in the center sounds so bad I couldn't take it. I'm hoping that something with better clarity and spread would be more pleasing, or at least a better option when gaming.

Please let me know you're thoughts on the listed speakers, compatibility, and perhaps some recommendations on other better options!

Thank you everyone!

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I was browsing looking at the Bose VCS 10 and Horizontal dual cubes since they are the only ones that have old school speaker wire attachments.