Withdrawing from an Ebay auction

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rob Gillespie, Jun 14, 2002.

1. Rob Gillespie

Rob Gillespie Producer

I've been an Ebayer for a couple of years now. I have 171 positive comments on my account - and 1 negative (from a total moron).

Today, I've done something I've never done before - I've withdrawn from an auction I won.

This was a UK auction for an Asus motherboard. The reasons for my withdrawal are:

1. The auction stated the location to be London, UK - but the user's contact details are actually in Maryland USA.

2. Seller wants payment via E-gold.com. This is not a site I've even heard of before. They trade in gold only. I just don't want to get involved. E-gold.com was not mentioned on the auction.

3. Seller has not responded to my queries on the motherboard.

4. Seller has not responded to my queries about points 1, 2 and 3.

I've emailed Ebay about this but have yet to receive a response. Something about this auction just stinks. The seller doesn't even sign emails with their real name. I smell a rat!

The seller has a current rating of 1. No doubt he'll give me a negative remark, but he'll get one back which will do him a lot more harm than it will me.

Just wanted to vent.

2. Michael*K

Michael*K Screenwriter

Very strange terms. I usually try to avoid auctions by any seller with a feedback rating of less than 25. On another eBay rant...Twice I've reported a seller (the same seller) for flagrant shill bidding and both times the seller was suspended. Now I see his account has been reinstated and he's back in "business." How many times does a seller have to be busted before he's kicked off for good?!? [​IMG] And the thing that really pisses me off is that this guy is building up a feedback profile based on positive feedback from the bogus accounts he's created! [​IMG]

3. Carl Miller

Carl Miller Screenwriter