What's new

What to set cutoff Frequency at? (1 Viewer)

black89

Auditioning
Real Name
Josh P.
First off Hello I've been a lurker for a few months now. I found a wealth of info. here from just reading but need some precise input.

I'm totally new to HT at this but think I have a decent grasp. I moved into my new house to find that the previous owners had left the speakers for the surround sound. All the wireing was ran in the wall so I was excited to have my first surround sound setup!

After some research I purchased a Onkyo 505 thinking that some optical cable was all I needed. I went home to hook it up to my 32" sony wega HDTV and bose speakers. I started hooking up the wires and the ones in the front were going through the sub..... I thought that was stupid the cross over was in the sub (really base module) so I came on here and figured out the crappy proprietary bose setup damm!ttt

I hooked it up and it doesn't sound too bad but I have no base and the high's are sucky but I can deal with it tell I get new speakers. This is my first HT and I know i'm entry level.

I have the model 100 rear speakers here: it say's there full range on the bose sight but I can't post url's yet. I noticed most speakers by bose they say to set the cutoff at 200 but these it doesn't.

And my fronts and center are the three 2.5" cubes ran through the base module with the stupid 200hz crossover.

My question is about the settings on the AV unit to get the best sound until I can get new speakers. I ordered the 10" Dayton sub that everybody likes and am getting it today. Hopefully this will be a slight imprvement.

So under speaker setup I turn sub to on. LFE to high? How about my frequency cross over should I keep that at 200hz?

I ran the self calibration and it seemed to work ok but I wouldn't know if I could personally do it better.

Sorry so long,

thanks

black89

Auditioning
Real Name
Josh P.
Long version is in AV basics.