Tekken 4 Progressive?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Scott L, Mar 26, 2002.

  1. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    The latest PS2 rumor is that people in Japan have been finding out their copy of Tekken 4 can spit out a 480p signal from their PS2. Can any importers or Japanese member confirm or dispel the rumor?

    Normally I wouldn't post a thread on something like this but it has been stated by more than one source on several boards.

    Here's one of the comments:

     
  2. Andrew Grall

    Andrew Grall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Especially after the whole sled storm rumor flop,

    I somehow doubt it...
     
  3. Shayne Lebrun

    Shayne Lebrun Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seeing as how the PS2 is specifically designed, to the best of my knowledge, to spit out a TV signal, I doubt it can be made progressive. But I'm prepared to be wrong.
     
  4. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    I talked with an employee of Namco and he said it's possible on a VGA monitor with "the proper cables." There's the one that comes with the Linux PS2 kit that goes straight from the PS2 to the monitor as an example. Also said that "Sony is a real b*tch about releasing the cables to support it."
    One other thing I forgot that he mentioned was that Tekken 4 in the arcade is actually just a PS2 inside the big cabinet. Had slots for a memcard and everything.
    Although I'm sorry to say the employee (Jason Arney, might know him as he runs most of the Namco tourneys in the states and is our best SC player) didn't know much on the subject it does look like a better possibility, at least on a computer monitor.
     
  5. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,716
    Likes Received:
    113
    Is there a way to make the PS2 send out a special signal other than the normal one that would allow it to do progressive, or is progressive 100% impossible (thats what they said about 5.1 real-time, and they did it with DTS).
     
  6. BrianShort

    BrianShort Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2000
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  7. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. paul h

    paul h Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 1999
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have just read this on IGN who say they have the import version in their grubby hands!

    "Owners of high quality televisions (at least higher quality than my LG monoaurial dome-shaped set) should take note: the back of the box proudly proclaims Progressive-scan compatibility. You can probably expect an arcade perfect image if you`ve got the proper screen"
     
  9. RANDY FISHER

    RANDY FISHER Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 1998
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    IGN just opened up their Tekken 4 import review to the general public and have verified that it supports a progressive scan TV.
    "Visually, Tekken 4 doesn't look too much different than its arcade counterpart unless you have a high definition television. The first game to support true progressive scan, T4 on one of the high-end monitors is a beauty."
    Randy[​IMG]
     
  10. Demetri K

    Demetri K Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Acctually I have the game. I can also confirm that it does support progressive scan.
     
  11. Yoshi Sugawara

    Yoshi Sugawara Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got the game - the back of the box has a logo saying "Progressive 525p"

    I don't have an HDTV, though....
     
  12. Shayne Lebrun

    Shayne Lebrun Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  13. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  14. Larry Seno Jr.

    Larry Seno Jr. Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the back of the box states progressive scan, with it do 525P with the component cables? Anyone?
     
  15. Iain Lambert

    Iain Lambert Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 1999
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haven't Sega been involved in Triforce as well, along with Nintendo? As thats built up from the Gamecube chipset, it only leaves NVidia's chipset in the X-Box without an arcade counterpart.
     
  16. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    SEGA's Naomi 3 board is just an Xbox...so they have all the current consoles running in the Arcades.
     
  17. JoshF

    JoshF Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    0
    [linkhttp://www.gamers.com/news/1126169]link[/link]

    By: James Mielke April 2, 2002 6:46 PM PST

    While most people are content to plug their video game consoles in with the standard RCA cables (or, god forbid, with RF adapters), some swing to the higher end of audio-visual mayhem and prefer their games in as high a resolution as they can get. This usually means using either S-video, or optimally, component cables. Then, for folks who have the luxury of watching their movies on a progressive scan-enabled television, you have to have a progressive scan-enabled DVD player.

    Take a look at this story for more on the specifics of progressive scan technology

    Since the PS2 is a DVD player, you may have wondered if your PS2 can do progressive scan output. While the PS2 isn't currently equipped to do so, we're still glad to confirm that, yes, it can.

    To get the full poop, we contacted Seth Luisi, producer on SOCOM: Navy Seals, over at Sony to see what he had to say on the subject. Word up, yo!

    "The PS2 can indeed output in progressive scan and the new Sony Libraries that were just released allow PS2 developers to do Anamorphic Widescreen Progressive Scan output in their games. Actually, Tekken4, which was just released in Japan, is the first PS2 game with progressive scan output.

    "We are actually considering adding progressive scan output to SOCOM but we may not be able to do to our tight schedule. In order to do progressive scan output you need to run with a full size frame buffer, not a half size frame buffer that is interlaced, which is what a lot of PS2 games use in order to save VRAM. In order to realistically use a full size frame buffer you have to use dynamic texturing and store a lot of your textures in main RAM, which is the method that SOCOM and most advanced 3rd generation PS2 games will use.

    "Dynamic texturing has many pluses besides just allowing a full size frame buffer and progressive scan output. With dynamic texturing, the amount VRAM in the PS2 does not matter because you are only using it as a texture cache, as it was meant to be used. We use over 4MB of textures for our character models in SOCOM alone, even though the PS2 only has 4MB of VRAM. The textures are swapped into and out of VRAM every game frame (1/60th or 1/30th of a second) which the PS2 can do since it has such fast memory access.

    "Regarding DVD playback, I am not certain it will be included in the future. However, it is definitely possible and since SCEI has made Anamorphic Widescreen Progressive Scan output available for game it only makes sense to add it to the next release of the DVD Drivers."
     
  18. Andrew Grall

    Andrew Grall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    The X-Box was all set to be progressive scan DVD as well, but the movie industry had a fit over the prospect. Thus, Microsoft was forced to disable progressive scan movie playback before its release.

    Therefore, I highly doubt progressive scan DVD playback is in either PS2's or X-Box's future.
     
  19. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Heck yea!! I posted a rumor that turned out to be true, you heard it here first folks! [​IMG]
     
  20. Troy_M

    Troy_M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    To all the non-believers out there, I can officially confirm that Tekken 4 supports progressive scan output. All you need are component cables(of course). Right after you pop the game in, hold triangle and x until a screen appears that gives you the 525p option, move the cursor left and voila! Crispness unparalled! You guys are not ready for these crisp graphics! PS2 is the system to own!!!!
     

Share This Page