What's new

Speaker & Sub Suggestions (1 Viewer)

Matt_G_M

Auditioning
I have $2000 to upgrade my HT. I went to a local AV store and the salesman recommend I keep my receiver, Yamaha HTR-5460, and spend the 2K on speakers and a sub. He recommended the Klipsch Reference Series (RF-25, RC-25, RS-25, & RSW-25). We haven't talked final numbers, but the sticker prices total $1980. He said he'd "work with me on the final price." Any thoughts on how much the store might come down? Is this a good price for those speakers/sub? Should I keep the receiver and put all of the money towards speakers/sub? Are these the best speakers/sub I can get for my money? Any other speakers/sub any of you recommend? Thanks for the input.

CurtisSC

Screenwriter
There is no best speaker for the money....it is all subjective.

I suggest you go out and listen to different stuff and decide on what YOU like.

Matt_G_M

Auditioning
I can see that - I'm a newbie. Since it is subjective, I'm curious how people would reply to the following:

You have $2000 to spend on speakers and a sub. What would you buy?

CurtisSC

Screenwriter
I would look at Ascend Acoustics and Axiom Audio.

Both these internet direct companies offer tremendous value, and their speakers are often compared to others costing 2 to three times as much. Another company to look at is also AV123.com I like their Reference line, but it is considerably more money.

MikeSta

Auditioning
I would plan on taking a day, and I mean a day not just an hour or two, and demo as many speakers as you can. Grab a number of DVD's and CD's that you own and listen/watch on a regular basis so you are familiar with different scenes. Take these disks to the local quality audio store and test the different speakers with YOUR reference material.