What's new

Remote Light Switches (1 Viewer)

Chris Huber

Second Unit
How do you install these guys and where can you get them? Do they require anything special to operate? Anybody here have them?

DeweyMiller

Auditioning
There are a bunch of different systems that provide the capability to remotely manage lighting (and a host of other things as well: hvac, security, HT, etc).

I'm just getting started in all of this home theater and home automation myself, but have been interested for years. The technology I've chosen for remote lighting control is X-10. Its pretty cheap, and from the research I've done is reliable once everything is set-up correctly (phase couplers, etc). I have my switches and controller and am ready to install once I get the walls painted.

You can get X10 from a number of on-line sources. I've dealt mainly with smarthome.com and have been impressed with their customer service. In about three to four weeks I hope to have an update on the quality of their X10 relays, dimmers, and controller+software.

If you want more of a home automation system, leviton, HAI, and a number of others (the name of the system one of my friends used escapes me, but its one of the more popular ones).

Hope this helps.

chris_everett

Second Unit
If you just want a single remote control switch, the easiest option is probably the Lutron "spacer" remotes. They can be installed in place of a standard switch, and come with a remote control that lets you dim your lights. It's functions can be programmed into a number of universal remote controls.

Matt*B

Stunt Coordinator
Hey all,