What's new

New construction home basement theater (1 Viewer)

NGreen08

Auditioning
Real Name
Nicholas
Hi all,
I had a new construction home built 2019/2020, but did not have the basement finished during construction because at the time the money tree was running out and didn't have a solid plan on what was going on with the space. Fast forward to now almost all wall construction is complete. I am looking to add a theater in a large space but I am very new to the home theater setup. I have attached a rough sketch of the space and will make a better one in Autocad once time allows. I am seeking feedback and help on setting up this area to be the best it can be for movies/games. I do not have any of the components or brands picked out for anything. I am open to any suggestions on paths to take. Room is 16x22 with 9 ft ceilings.
Here is what I am planning so far.
Screen - Electric retractable in ceiling.
Projector - Short throw 4k
Speakers - ceiling preferred (rear wall is open to wet bar area)
Component cabinet - in wall with smoked glass door.
Wiring - "smurf tube" for upgrades.
Insulation - safe n' sound rockwool.
Lighting - Leviton smart switches with can lighting
Shades - smart blackout shades
Remote - harmony elite

There is so much more to do, but I don't know what next steps I need to take to keep this project moving forward. TIA
1660925656028.png

ManW_TheUncool

His Own Fool
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
ManW
Welcome to HTF, Nicholas!

Offhand, I'm wondering why retractable screen since this is a dedicated space in basement. Retractable usually means compromise to quality (on top of higher cost and setup/maintenance trickiness). Unless that's a definite must-have (typically in a mixed-use living space/room, not dedicated space in basement), I'd say don't do that.