What's new

Receiver and Speakers Question (1 Viewer)

Jkip74

Auditioning
Real Name
Joey Kipilo
STR-DH190 Stereo Receiver
SS-CS5 3-Way Bookshelf Speakers

I don't necessarily need surround sound for my apartment, but I need better speakers than the ones built into my TV, so I can actually enjoy watching a movie. For the reason above, I don't want to spend more than $400-500 (receiver & speakers) on this rig, since I am not really looking for that cinematic sound, and also considering I live in an apartment. I am not sure if it matters, but I have 2-3 systems that would be using it. I don't have cable, so it would be a PS3, Wii, and possibly another PS3 (Try not to judge on my game systems haha). I also like the idea that it has Bluetooth, so I could hook up my phone to it and listen to music.

I am new to using surround sound and the lingo that is related to it. I have my reasons for not wanting to use a sound bar, and I feel more comfortable with this type of setup. Are these two items compatible? For the bare minimum of what I need, will these two items suffice? Or will I need to use something different?

I chose these two items since the brand was familiar and they were in the price range I was looking for. If these two are not compatible, what would you recommend considering my current parameters?

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
This first question is if your TV has an hdmi input.

You are using video sources, so I suggest you get a surround receiver, even if you're only going to use two or three channels. It will switch your video sources, which the stereo receiver you mentioned won't. Basically all receivers have bluetooth these days. I suggest you go with a 3.0 system, which will be much better than two channels for video sources.