What's new
World Wide Stereo

Need some help with an old configuration (1 Viewer)

mskli1967

Auditioning
Real Name
Mike
Hello:

I have no experience with Home Theater hookup. I have an old (2007) receiver (Sony STR-DB870) and it no longer works properly so we need to purchase a new one. This receiver is not only hooked up to my surround speakers in our family room but it also hooked up to multiple speakers in our home (bedrooms/kitchen etc) so you could play music throughout the house. This part was configured via "MD/Tape In/Out" of the old receiver. I don't see these inputs in any new receivers that I have looked at. Is there a receiver out there that has current technology that could work for my home surround system AND also still connect to the speakers in the rest of the house?

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Most AVRs these days have secondary outputs labeled “Zone 2” that could be utilized for your whole-house function.

However, those outputs are typically analog, while the inputs of most components these days are digital (HDMI typically). The caveat is, not all AVRs will send digital inputs to the analog Zone 2 outputs.

Thus, for any AVR you are considering, you will have to dig in the owner’s manual online before purchase, to make sure digital sources are output to the Zone 2 jacks.

Admittedly, this can be a daunting task, given the size of manuals these days, but necessary. You don’t want to bring something home only to find out it doesn’t meet your needs.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al