What's new

Onkyo vs. Jbl? (1 Viewer)

NarendraSharma

Auditioning
I'm new to the whole HT thing, cuz I just bought the Sony KP-46wt500, and now I'm thinkin of getting a surround sound system to complete my dvd experience.

The only thing is that my budget is not as flexible as i want it to be(cuz of the TV!)

Now for my questions:

Does Onkyo actually make good speakers?

Because I'm lookin at the HTS660 or HTS650 HTiB, and they both are less than $500, which seems like a good deal. And if this is a good system, then i want it.

Then theres the JBL NSP1II speaker package, with the PB12 sub, OR the SCS150SI. With JBL, i was leaning towards a Yamaha receiver.

The only reason I'm lookin at the more expensive JBL speakers + receiver package is because I can get those two brands at a discount.

What I want to know if is it worth paying a little more for the JBL+Yamaha deal, or should I just stick to the Onkyo stuff and enjoy a basic surround system??

Or does anyone else recommend a good set of speakers or a HTiB to start off with for less than $800?

Thanks!

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
Unless you're willing to DIY I'd go with JBL and Yamaha combo. If the place you can get the discount carries it, also consider mating the JBL's with a Harman Kardon receiver.

If you can DIY I'd build five of these:

http://www.speakerpage.com/K05B50.htm

and a sub using the 120W plate amp and a Dayton DVC12 driver from Parts Express.

NarendraSharma

Auditioning
yea DIY is a little too advanced to me right now...
i just want something to get me going thats not going to be crappy..
and i dont think i can get a HK receiver because the place doesnt carry them.

I noticed on your site you had a JBL center.

How is the video shielding on it? I've read somewhere that it has caused discoloration on some tv's. Also how big is it?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks

Brett DiMichele

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Brett
Narendra,

Onkyo makes an "okay" speaker for the money. But in my