What's new

New Ht (1 Viewer)

RichardJB

Stunt Coordinator
I am new to this, I am having a house built with a 24x19 ft
great room,I am having structured wirng system put in and
HT pre-wire, I just purchased the Denon AVR 2805 for my room and I am currently researching an HT speaker system. I prefer small cubes and every thing I read says dont buy Bose. Why is that?? Also any recomondations on HDTV?
I am looking for a 60" HD. I will be sitting 12-14' away.
Thank you in advance for any help.

Charlie Campisi

Screenwriter
Welcome to the forum, bro! HT is more than just an appliance purchase, it is a hobby, an addiction... There is a lot you can learn. Or, you can go the quick route and be perfectly happy as there are many no muss no fuss displays and surround systems that sound great. You are on the right track with the Denon. My main reason to not buy Bose is that it is typically incompatible with other equipment, making it harder to upgrade or repair. It's also very pricey. Last, you can get better sound elsewhere for the same or less cost. Click on the "primer/FAQ" button located just above the threads on this page and go to section 4. There is a link to "Isn't Bose the best?" that also leads to some more links. That'll give you a flavor for what the great debate is all about. You won't find many, if any, Bose supporters on this forum.

As for a display, much depends on your preferences and budget. How much are you willing to spend? Is burn-in important to you (do you play video games, leave the tv on for long periods of time on a single channel)? Have you looked at DLP, CRT and LCD rear projection sets? Can you control the light in the room?

RichardJB

Stunt Coordinator