What's new

Need help picking speakers and sub (1 Viewer)

Briklynd

Auditioning
Real Name
Briklynd
Im new to this whole home theatre seen, and I might be a little out of my league on this forum but I need some advice. I am looking to purchase a set of speakers and a subwoofer to go along with my Pioneer VSX D608 reciever, not exactly new technology but im hoping it will work fine. I went to best buy the other day and I listened to various speakers, and they talked me into wanting these mirage v2 bookshelf speakers that run $259 a piece and a powered subwoofer(not sure which one but it was about 400 for a 10in 200W powered). SO when I came home and looked it all up on ebay I found that I can get the pair of mirage V2 speakers for around 300 and a buddy of mine has a dayton 120 12inch powered sub that he swears by, they run about 150+shipping. So that is what I was leaning towards right now, however I would appreciate some feedback on what the experts think of these iteams and what you would reccomend in that price range. Please keep in mind that I am trying to stay away from the big bulky speakers I used to have a pair of cerwin vegas but they wouldnt look very good next to a nice thin plasma mounted on the wall.

Thanks

Briklynd

Briklynd

Auditioning
Real Name
Briklynd
Any ideas? im really unshure of what type of subwoofer to get aswell. I would like a good sub for less than $300 and the lower the better, but I was reading though other posts and most of the subs discussed cant be had for less than $700. The room that its all going in is roughly 10' by 14'. Im just looking for an introductory basic system that I can uprgrade later.

hodedofome

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Aaron Smith
So what's your total budget? How many speakers do you need? 5.1, 3.1?

Briklynd

Auditioning
Real Name
Briklynd