Mass image resizing

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Mike LS, Sep 11, 2003.

  1. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if there's a program that can resize mulitiple images at once?

    Say I take 100 digital pictures at 1600x1200 and I want to resize them to put them online. I'll want to scale them down to 800x600. How can I do this without going through and repeating the same job 100 times?

    Can Photoshop do this? If not, what can?
     
  2. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Matt DeVillier

    Matt DeVillier Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1999
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can have photoshop do it as well with a batch action. just record it once, then apply it to a directory
     
  4. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. Chris Moe

    Chris Moe Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is really easy in photoshop.

    Make an action, I am not in front of PS right now but it is really easy. Pretty much all you will need to do is, create and name a new action and assign a key to it. Then hit the record button, and go to Image/Image size and put the image size that you want to change to, choose your saving method, and then stop recording the action.

    The go to File/Automate/Batch at the drop down menu choose your newly created action. Then choose the directory where your pictures are and choose an output directory where you want the newly resized files to go. Then hit ok and it should do it for you.

    I may be missing some steps here but that is should be pretty close. You should be able to find something on the web fairly easily.
     
  6. Kyle McKnight

    Kyle McKnight Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Irfanview

    Here's a pic of the batch options (the menu on the right is the "advanced options".

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Mark Dubbelboer

    Mark Dubbelboer Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 1999
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    0
    second the notion for irfanview
     
  8. Jason Merrick

    Jason Merrick Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA (Los Angeles)
    Real Name:
    Jason Merrick
    Not sure of your operating system, but I am pretty sure you can also do this with WindowsXP by itself. Just select all the image files then right click and there should be an option to resize.
     
  9. Chris Rosene

    Chris Rosene Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 1999
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    3rd vote for irfanview!
     
  10. BenSC

    BenSC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have photoshop already, it's real easy.

    1) Window Menu
    2) Show Actions (if it says Hide Actions, you already have the toolbar displayed [it is combined with History])
    3) Open one of your images.
    4) Click the "Create new action" button on the toolbar, it is next to the Trashcan.
    5) Name the action whatever you want, say, "Resize to 100".
    6) Click "Record" in the window you chose the name.
    7) Resize the image however you want, do NOT save.
    8) Click the stop button, it is next to the red record button the toolbar.

    You now have you action. To use it:

    1) Close all images
    2) File Menu
    3) Automate
    4) Batch
    5) Under the Action pulldown, choose your newly created action
    6) Set Source to Folder
    7) Click "Choose" and choose the folder containing your images
    8) Set Destination to Folder
    9) Click "Choose" and choose the folder containing your images
    10) Set filename to something like "resized_" + DocumentName + EXTENSION
    11) Click "OK"


    Photoshop will then open the images in that folder, and resize them with the prefix "resized_".
     
  11. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another vote for IrFanView, but I use ACDSee 5.0 for all all of my batch processing and organizing.
     
  12. Christ Reynolds

    Christ Reynolds Producer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    CJ
    using ben's advice, you can make a droplet. that is when you have an icon on the desktop (or wherever) that you can drag the image file onto, and it will perform the action you created automatically. i think that it performs the action without opening photoshop as well.

    CJ
     
  13. Brian Mansure

    Brian Mansure Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Macromedia Fireworks has a built-in batch optimization option for images.

    It has worked well for me as a "quick and dirty" solution to get 100+ images online and dialup friendly.

    Brian
     

Share This Page