Eq question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Juan Castillo, Apr 11, 2002.

  1. Juan Castillo

    Juan Castillo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Is there a big difference in the quality of low budget EQ's?

    2. Even if it is not needed, is it a good idea to incorporate one if one is available?

    3. Anyone here have a technics model SH-GE50? And if so, are you happy with it?

    I have one, and am about to incorporate a Kenwood VR-507 reciever into my system using my old reciever as a sub amp for my DVC Cerwin Vega sub. So hopefully, I can make good use of the EQ. Thanks in advance for your input.
     
  2. ColinM

    ColinM Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will you be EQ'ing the sub?
     
  3. Juan Castillo

    Juan Castillo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure exactly how to hook things up yet. What I have right now, is a stereo reciever umm.. well here, lemme list my components, and you give me a suggestion k?

    Kenwood VR-507 DD, DTS, DPLII reciever in transit : )

    Pioneer SX-203 Stereo reciever/Sub Amp

    Technics SH-GE50 EQ

    Phillips DVD711 DVD player

    JC Electronics JC-111 HTPC

    Sony SLV-N71 VCR

    Pioneer PD-M423 CD changer

    Sony TC-W365 Cassette

    Pelican PL-625 A/V Switch

    Technics SB-S29 Surrounds

    Technics SB-LV105 Bookshelf

    Technics SB-AFC32 Center Channel

    Cerwin Vega SW-12B Passive 12" DVC Sub

    Before the Kenwood , I was using the A channel on the Pioneer to push the bookshelf speakers, and the B channel to push the sub through its low inputs, with the high outputs to the surrounds.

    I know, 100 watts per channel x 2 to 5 speakers... oh yeah, the center not plugged in with this old setup. The DVD audio was being run through the EQ, and then back out to the recievers inputs. This way, only DVD playback would make use of the EQ, but since its the only way that it can be hooked up to my system its fine by me ... So, now that I am going to implement the VR-507, and use it to push all 5 speakers, with the sub out going to the stereo reciever to push the Sub all by itself, I am just wondering if I should plug the EQ back into the dvd player, and run its signal to the Kenwood. I guess its a simple question, just wondering if all the Kenwood adds to my setup, if i would benefit from still having it in place? Thanks again.
     
  4. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    unless professionally setup, i think eq's can be very tricky. something about you're only supposed to flatten humps, not try to raise dips, etc. not really sure there.

    in any case, i used to use an eq and really liked it.

    but...

    my paradigm shift about how to listen to music happened the day i started realizing that it was really processing the sound to such an extreme that i wasn't even hearing what the producers/artist intended.

    of course, really all that matters is how you like the way it sounds. if you enjoy boosting/cutting the sound, then so be it.

    you mention running the eq between the dvd and receiver? i thought most eq's were hooked up to the receivers tape-monitor? unless you're trying to do something different?

    in any case, since you already have it, i'd definitely say hook it up and give it a shot. see what you like best...

    ted
     
  5. Juan Castillo

    Juan Castillo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone expand on the tape-monitor hookup that Ted references? I will look at it tonight and post the hookups it has, and hopefully I can set it up to use it for all sources and not just the dvd. Thanks
     
  6. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm absolutely positively sure...(i think) [​IMG]
    the back of your eq will have some in/out labeled "main" or "playback" or something like that. those plugs go to the tape-monitor input (often tape2) on your receiver.
    then, whenever you hit the tape-monitor on your receiver, it "engages" the eq. now, no matter what source you select on your receiver (dvd, tuner, cd, etc.), as long as the tape-mon is selected, everything you hear will be eq'd.
    at least that's how it's worked on all the eq systems i've seen.
    remember, it can't be hooked to the tape-1 input. that's just like any other input on your receiver. it doesn't always "stay on" like the tape-monitor (tape2) input does.
     
  7. Juan Castillo

    Juan Castillo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    You da man Ted!! I know it has two inputs and two outputs in back, and a bypass button in front..er something like that.. I will try tonight. Thanks for your help!
     
  8. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    no problem juan! [​IMG]
    it should definitely work. just make the connections, turn your receiver's volume knob down, hit the tape2 button then jack up all the eq levels. you should hear an immediate and noticeable difference.
    if you still have problems, just let us know!
     
  9. Juan Castillo

    Juan Castillo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    The back of the EQ had two separate input output sections. One labeled EQ, the other Tape. I tried the Tape first, hooked everthing up the the Tape 2/Monitor inputs and selected the tape setting on the front (push button selector, when pushed in, source is selected, when released, tape is selected), and turned on the reciever. I first put in a CD, selected the cd button on the reciever, and then hit the tape 2 button. Nothing. No sound, no movement of LCD display on EQ.. OK.. Powered down, switched everything on the EQ back panel from the Tape input/outputs to the EQ input/outputs, selected Source on the push button selector on the front panel, turned everything back on, and Whoala!!!SUccess.. Next, put in a DVD, selected the DVD button on the reciever, and boom! Only prob is, that until I get my Kenwood. I will not be able to listen to my TV through the Stereo. Not enough inputs. Ted, thanks !
     
  10. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    glad it worked juan -

    does your tv have audio-outs? if so, you may be able to hook that to the tape input on your eq. i'm guessing the front of the eq has some way to "engage" that tape input?

    give it a try...you may be surprised!
     
  11. Mark Larson

    Mark Larson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was also interested in getting an EQ for my (stereo) setup, but even in my old minisystem, i just left it at one setting - don't know how to do it properly.
    And 10 points PER CHANNEL!! Wow! I would be tweaking all day! [​IMG]
     
  12. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey mark -

    most eq's follow this format:

    1. the left-most channels are the bass

    2. the middle channels are the midrange

    3. the right-most channels are the highs

    typically, most people will boost the bass and treble, but not the mid's. they'll taper off the extreme bass and trebles too.

    so, basically, the eq will sort of look like a soft-sloped "V" or sea-gull wings...

    of course, the whole thing about having an eq is to tailor the sound to your personal tastes or requirements.
     
  13. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,098
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Ted,
    I’m not chasing you around looking to counter everything you say, really I’m not... :b
     
  14. Juan Castillo

    Juan Castillo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wayne, that kind of information is exactly what I was looking for. Aside from how to properly hook it up to my setup, which Ted did a fine job clearing up for me (Thanks Ted) Really good information that I would have had to really delve deep into the forums to find. The saying goes "You learn something new every day"... well, just reading here each day, I learn alot. Thanks Wayne. Your EQ knowledge comes only second to your soldering : )..

    I will leave the EQ in place, but for the time being only use it while listening to my audio sources.

    Dumb question, but would the same apply to my satellite watching, and occasional video? Meaning, is the signal still influenced negatively by the EQ in this mode?
     
  15. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    no problem wayne! [​IMG] thanks for clarifying my post.
    i did mention that the whole point of having the eq is to customer tailor the sound, but (as usual) i like your explanation/clarification much better. [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  16. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,098
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Thanks for the kind words, Ted and Juan.

    Juan,
     
  17. Juan Castillo

    Juan Castillo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wayne, thanks again. I will try the test tones suggestion, as I had a hard time finding documentation on the model of EQ I own. Either way, using it to learn more about this hobby is fun.
     

Share This Page