What's new

Volume discontinuity mystery (1 Viewer)

bradcb

Auditioning
Real Name
Brad
Hi there! I'm a beginner cobbling together a frankensystem, and I have hit a dead end trying to troubleshoot an odd behavior: The volume knob on my receiver seems to have no effect on the volume I hear, except it "snaps" to a new level at a few key points:
  • -∞ (min): No sound from speakers
  • -99dB to -21dB: Uniformly too quiet
  • -20dB to 0 dB (max): Uniformly too loud!
When I refer to volume positions from -∞ to 0dB, those are values displayed on the receiver's screen as I turn the main volume knob.

Did I do something wrong, or is my receiver broken? Normally I'd assume the receiver is broken, but I'm attempting kind of a weird setup so I wanted another opinion. Details follow.

I'm using a Kenwood VR-505 Audio Video Surround Receiver (Manual). It's wired up to:
  • A pair of Bose 901 Series IV speakers (Manual) wired to the front right and left channels.
  • A turntable with a Pyle preamp (PP444) wired to the AUX input
  • A 1Mii bluetooth receiver (B06+) wired to the CD/DVD input.
  • (Sometimes) The 901s' active EQ, wired to the VIDEO 2/MONITOR out/in.
Prior to the current setup, I had the turntable and 901s wired to a Yamaha R-N303BL. I wasn't using the preamp because the receiver had one built in, and I wasn't using the EQ because the receiver had no tape loop or preamp loop. I had no issues playing the turntable or bluetooth except that the 901s are muddy without their EQ. I was gifted the Kenwood used and thought I'd try to get the EQ working with it.

Observations I've made on the new setup: