What's new

Xbox Audio Connection (1 Viewer)

Chris Reehl

Auditioning
I'm a bit of a newbie to HT, and I am going to piece together a small system soon. I just have a quick question: How does the Xbox high def audio pack connect to a receiver using an optical digital connection? Does it use a standard toslink-to-toslink connection?

thanks
Chris Reehl

Jay Mitchosky

Senior HTF Member

Yes, standard optical connection from the Xbox HD pack to the optical input of a receiver or preamp. If you ever find yourself in a position where you can only use a coaxial digital cable there are optical-to-coax converters readily available (can find in any music store that carries recording gear).

Marc Bax

Second Unit
There is a better way to go though, the Monster Cable Component (Gamelink 400 X), S-Video (Gamelink 300 X), and AV (Gamelink 200 X) cables all have a small jacks on them to connect a special Monster optical cable the Lightwave 100 X (one end is a small headphone like jack that plugs into the base of the video cable and the other is Toslink) use these for the best in video and audio that you'll get out of the Xbox. I use the Gamelink 400 X, and Lightwave 100 X and they're some of the best cables I've ever owned. These cables will run you more then the standard Microsoft made Xbox advanced av, and HD packs but they work much better because, well here let these guys explain it..