What's new

Connection Componets to AVR or TV - Pros/Cons/Suggestions? (1 Viewer)

Jason Goodmanson

Second Unit
Real Name
Jason
Long time member from back in the DIVX, Weekly Round-Up Days where Target, Circuit City, Best Buy and Amazon were featured - oh and we fought to keep widescreen DVDs and dealt with little red dots at our movies (remember theaters?)

Anyways . . . question. I'm going to post it in the newbie section but I'm not really a newbie.

Trying to figure out for my particular set-up - would it be better to hook my components up directly to my receiver or my TV?

My current - today - setup - everything is routed through my receiver - a Denon AVR-S920W that was purchased back in the fall of 2016. It has served me well and isn't something that I'm looking to replace anytime soon (unless I have to, and even it wouldn't be until much later in the year). My current TV - an LG 60PA6500 plasma (I don't recall when it was purchased, but it was brand new) - has served me well but is being replaced which is why I'm posting this.

My current video sources are:
  • An old Sony Blu-ray player (that is being replaced along with the tv)
  • AppleTV 4k
  • Xbox One X
  • And rarities upon rarities - I have two Pioneer LaserDisc players floating around that I haven't connected in about six years
Right now, everything is connected to the receiver and passed to the TV using one HDMI cable. The AppleTv will throw an Atmos signal (at least according to the display when using Disney+ that has Atmos) and I'm not really sure what the Blu-ray is doing - Atmos never lights up.

My new setup will be this:
  • Denon AVR-S920W (current)
    • 7.2 Atmos speaker setup using all Pioneer Andrew Jones speakers
  • Vizio P75QN-H1
  • Sony UBP-X700 Blu-ray player
  • AppleTV 4k
  • Xbox One X
  • And maybe one of those LD players