What's new

Will we ever see restorations of the original 35mm prints of Disney animation classics? (1 Viewer)

Konstantinos

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Konstantinos
I thought to start this thread here, about a subject that has concerned me over the years.

The disney animation classics are among my favourite films ever, but we all know about the extensive "restorations" (=alterations) they get on Blu-ray with altered colors, degraining, and other techinques.. Some people agree with this, some don't.
Here's some comments from bigshot on the matter.
http://www.hometheaterforum.com/topic/328063-a-few-words-about%E2%84%A2-mary-poppins-in-blu-ray/page-5#entry4030417
I'm not an expert myself, so I wouldn't know what Disney is doing exactly..

Although I had purchased 2-3 Blurays in the beginning, I've stopped, because I see even Blurays that are generally hailed as magnificent, are changed.
See for example this random screenshot:
lady-tramp-disneyscreencaps.com-906.jpg

Imagine how that would be if it was restored from the original 35mm film print with grain and all.
I personally love grain and I think it makes these animation films alive!
And I was SO IMPRESSED by the work Thunderbean did to Gulliver's Travels!
A work like that on all the Disney animation classics, would be a dream come true for me!

So, do you think that we will ever see such work done once this "trend" of "restorations" passes?
Or are the original film prints stored somewhere and slowly deteriorating, so we will never have the chance to see them restored?

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
In my opinion... Nope. I hear Disney execs want the classic movies to look like new Pixar films.

FoxyMulder

映画ファン
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Malcolm
I agree with Ron, i don't think it will happen, i want it to happen but it won't.