What's new

Which receiver is best for my Klipsch setup? (1 Viewer)

troy2003

Auditioning
Real Name
troy
I am still fairly new to the home audio thing. I started out with Klipsch quintet II with a Dayton Audio sub and have upgraded to klipsch rf-82's, an rc-52II, rb-61's and rs-42's. I am currently running an Onkyo ht-sr550 receiver from the ht-sr800 HTIB, this was my starter receiver for the quintets. I just dont think it is doing the job for the speakers I have upgraded to and I want some advice on where to get a good used receiver for no more than $400 or if anyone might be selling something that is perfect to complete the setup. My current receiver is only HDMI pass through, ect., ect...here is a link to what im running my current speaker setup with.
http://www.onkyousa.com/model.cfm?m=HT-SR800&class=Systems&p=f
I know its not a power issue, one thing i have learned is more power doesnt necessarily mean better sound. It seems it may be a frequency level downfall that is lacking. I have been seeing many receivers that cover a frequency range of 20Hz to 20kHz per channel; however the current receiver I am running does not show the frequency range that it covers.
Amplifier Section
Power Output -
Front L/R 110 W/Channel (8 ohms, 1 kHz, FTC)
Center 110 W (8 ohms, 1 kHz, FTC)
Surround L/R 110 W/Channel (8 ohms, 1 kHz, FTC)
Surround Back L/R 110 W/Channel (8 ohms, 1 kHz, FTC)
Dynamic Power 210 W (3 ohms, 1 ch)
190 W (4 ohms, 1 ch)
130 W (8 ohms, 1 ch)
THD (Total Harmonic Distortion) 0.9 % (Rated power)
Damping Factor 60 (Front, 1 kHz, 8 ohms)
Input Sensitivity and Impedance 200 mV/47 k-ohms (Line)
Output Level and Impedance 200 mV/470 ohms (Rec out)
Frequency Response 5 Hz–100 kHz/ +1 dB, -3 dB (Direct mode)
Tone Control ±10 dB, 50 Hz (Bass)
±10 dB, 20 kHz (Treble)
Signal-to-Noise Ratio 100 dB (Line, IHF-A)
Speaker Impedance 8 ohms–16 ohms

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam