1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

where to find a power plug

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Jeff Bayne, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. Jeff Bayne

    Jeff Bayne Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, i need to make a power cord for a plate amp. I can obviously find a wall plug and wire, but i need the female plug that goes into the amp- its the shape like on your computer. Other that a Marinco from PE for $17, where can i get one?

    Thanks,

    jeff
     
  2. Mattak

    Mattak Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've thrown out about 5 in the last week along with their respective computer parts (monitors, power supplies, etc). I can probably dig up another one, but yeah...try a computer shop, ask for a dead power supply [​IMG]
     
  3. Jeff Bayne

    Jeff Bayne Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, i'm looking for just the plug, that i can attach to my own wire. I need it longer than the normal length...

    Thanks though,

    jeff
     
  4. Mattak

    Mattak Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I understand that. They can be removed from a computer power supply very easily. I could probably go pull one off something right now and mail it to you if you'd like.
     
  5. Mattak

    Mattak Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    n/m
     
  6. Jeff Bayne

    Jeff Bayne Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. Mattak

    Mattak Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ack! Sorry, my mistake. Must have missed the "female" part of your post :b Sorry for wasting your time.
     
  8. dave alan

    dave alan Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. Jeff Bayne

    Jeff Bayne Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh no, thanks for your time Matt.

    Dave, thanks for the link, but i still didn't find a plain plug- just a molded plug with a cord attached.

    jeff
     
  10. Wayne Ernst

    Wayne Ernst Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,

    What you need to get is a "C13" connector. In my process of searching for such a connector, I found cords that come in 15' lengths for $13.74.

    Link: 15' Cord

    Also, this might work - just $3.00. It will allow you to utilize an extension cord of any length with the adapter. http://www.buypowergear.com/nema_ada...15p_c13_up.asp
     
  11. Wayne Ernst

    Wayne Ernst Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,

    Just another quick idea. If you're finding that the prices are a bit steep for these products, you might just want to add an electrical outlet closer to where the subwoofer is going to be located. Since outlets, wire and boxes are more "commodity type" items, it might be cheaper in the long run. Plus, you won't have to deal with concealing an exceptionally long power cord from the plate amp.
     
  12. ThomasW

    ThomasW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One really shouldn't use computer power cords for their connections on power amps. Most of the computer cords are only rated to 6 amps or so. For power amps one should use devices with 10/15 amp ratings

    Here's a link to a place that has tons of 10 amps cords
    http://www.buypowergear.com/15a_nema_cables/index.asp
     
  13. Allen Ross

    Allen Ross Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nothing but 12/3 running in my dorm room!!!
     
  14. Jeff Bayne

    Jeff Bayne Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wayne, thanks for the link- i think what i'll do is get the right angle plug, then a make my own nice looking extension cord. And yeah, i'll want 12/3 as well.

    unless someone has the plug itself, i think we have a solution.

    Thanks a ton!

    jeff
     
  15. Wayne Ernst

    Wayne Ernst Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,

    I think you've found probably the best option - making your own custom cord and using the adapter at the link.

    I was by Home Depot today and thought I'd check through the electrical aisle. They have plenty of plugs, but no C13 plugs. [​IMG]
     
  16. Allen Ross

    Allen Ross Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i got 50 feet of 12/3 and made some extension cords, i tried a two different plug styles the medium and high grade that HD offered, the high end were really nice, vary easy to do and rock solid, but pretty pricey, the medium grade ones were decent but a little more difficult to make.

    I am glad that i am now getting cleaner power from the walls, before i was going through a really weak walmart extension cord that i would guess at 18/3.

    Also my room has that new wire smell to it [​IMG]
     

Share This Page