What's new

What wires too use...monster or other? (1 Viewer)

Jake-o

Auditioning
I'm turning my unfinished "family room" into a HT. I'm about ready to run speaker wires in the wall. Before I take that step....I've always had some form of Monster cable for all my conections. My current recv. and future one will be 100W per channel. What would be the best gauge and is there anything I should consider other than Monster. Also...anyone know of a video cable I could run for about 40-50 feet. Thinking of putting a small LCD display in the bathroom located right in front of the "throne" so we won't miss any of the game. :)

thanks

JamesGL

Stunt Coordinator
When I was a newbie, the only brand I knew was Monster so I spent a pretty penny for my set up.
Now, only the powersource is from a Monster brand.

Do some searching.
I wish I did.

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
Inside the wall you probably should use household AC power wiring meant for the purpose, with junction boxes like outlet boxes where it comes through to the room. The biggest concern is having speaker wire insulation bio-degrade inside the wall, and many building codes demand AC power wire made for in-wall use in order to avoid that problem. Outside the wall, any brand of speaker wire will do, although you may feel that Monster makes the prettiest looking ones. Be sure to get the gauge you want (most folks want 12 gauge) since some Monster speaker cables have very thick insulation to look big (is that where Monster gets its name?) when the conductors are nowhere near that thicness.

Do not use one just-right-gauge three conductor AC cable for left and right channels. The third conductor, used as a common return, won't handle the total power for the two speakers properly phased. You need a thicker third conductor, or four equal sized conductors two for each speaker.