What's new

Newbie to teh forum...Onkyo receiver question (1 Viewer)

keithl1967

Auditioning
Real Name
Keith
I am new to the foum, but have a couple of questions I was hoping some folks muight be able to help me with: I have an ONKYO HTR530 that recently bit the dust. A 1 As I was reconnecting the speakers (in wall/ceiling) the other day, the unit shut itself off after playing well for several minutes while I was connecting the speakers to it. When I turned it back on, I got a "PFFFT" sound, and a puff of smoke form the receiver, and now it will not stay turned on. Some background: this receiver had often (since it was new five years ago) taken several attempts to turn it on before it would "stay" on--even before this hook-up, so I am not sure if it is a speaker connection issue this time, or if has always had issues and finally just gave up. It was unplugged for twom months during a basement remodel, and was cleaned with compressed air before re-connecting it. What could have caused this to happen? I am looking for a replacement, but want to make sure this does not happen to the next receiver I buy. 2. I am looking at the Denon AVR1912 as a replacment/upgrade Does anyone have any experience with this receievr? 3. I am using Monster in-wall speaker wire s14-2r. At how many ohms is this wire rated? 4. I am connecting to Bose Virtually invisible 191's for the front channels (left and right), and Polk audit R601 for the rear channels. Will the 875 Watts from the Denon bee too much for these speakers? Sorry for all the questions, I just want to replace the receiver, without causing myself more headaches... Thanks!

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene