What's new

Toshiba 42h81 (1 Viewer)

SteveBjr

Stunt Coordinator
The 42h81 will be arriving at my house on Friday. I have a few questions. This is my first widescreen TV so i'm new to them.
1) When i'm watching regular TV about how big will Pan & Scan broadcasts be on a 42" widescreen?
2) What is the best type of component video inputs to use?
Once it arrives and i start setting it up i'll probably be back to ask some more questions...any tips or opinions you wanna share with me please do :)
------------------
Steve,
DVD Collection

Chris M

Second Unit
From my calculations, you would be looking at a 34" 4:3 TV. The best connections would of course be component connectors, but for type, I'm not sure. I believe Monster cables are over priced. I'd think spending $100 on a set of component cables would be the maximum you'd want to spend :)
Hope that helps.
Chris.

Jeffrey Forner

Screenwriter
I've had the Toshiba 42H81 for a couple weeks now. I think I can answer your questions. :)
1) Any material presented in a 4x3 format will be roughly equal to a 36" 4x3 TV. That's what I found when I measured it on mine.
2) I use a Silver Serpent component video cable from Better Cables . However, I have found that on my system the cable doesn't improve the quality of the video much at all.
I highly suggest you take a look at a thread I started at Home Theater Talk . You'll probably have many questions once you get the set, and this thread will certainly supply some of those answers. Also, feel free to e-mail me if you need any other questions answered.
------------------
-J.Fo
"Why do I always get a warped one?"
[Edited last by Jeffrey Forner on October 03, 2001 at 11:15 PM]

Rob Michaw

Stunt Coordinator
What does cable look like on the set? I know it has the line doubler, so I am hoping that it doesn't completely butcher standard cable. (When I buy the TV, I will need to wait to purchase satellite, and in Canada, I am not able to access terrestrial hi-def broadcasts.)
Thanks.