What's new
World Wide Stereo

Tivo and HD Cable Boxes (Help a Newbie) (1 Viewer)

joeyEND

Auditioning
Newbie here....

Trying to help my Sister decide on some new HT components for the new house she is building.

We've selected an HD Plasma (ViewSonic VPW4255), and a receiver (Denon AVR-2105). Where I'm getting stuck is whether or not she should get HD Cable from Cox. She has a Tivo Series 2 so she would not be able to record HD programming.

The Box COX provides is the Motorola 6200. If she does go with the HD Cable, can we hook up the Tivo to the Analog Video out and send the Component Video outs to the receiver.

I'm also trying to compile a list of the cables she would require to get the job done too.

728x90

Stephen Tu

Screenwriter
Yes, she can record from the 6200's analog S-video or composite video outputs, and hook the component video to the AVR or straight to the TV. This would allow her to record HD downconverted to HD, and also SD digital channels. The drawback of this is not being able to record anything else while watching HD. Alternately, one can split the cable, record analog channels only on the Tivo, and watch HD/digital channels independently on the cable box.

But if she can get the Motorola 6412 from Cox, she should go that route instead, so that she can record in HD. She can continue to record analog channels on the Tivo.

KarenDB

Auditioning
I solved it by getting two cable boxes from the cable company. One HD box and a regular box for Tivo. I used to have just one box and it was a pain if Tivo decided to record something while I was watching something in HD.

joeyEND

Auditioning
Thanks Karen, I had not thought about that option.... I believe that sounds like the best way to go.... Just worried about my Sister, she's not the most technically savvy individual.... I'll definitely have to set her up with an all in one remote, like the Harmony remotes... you know, press A button and viola, watching TV etc, etc.

Tim Jin

Supporting Actor