What's new

Need Help With HTS Setup (1 Viewer)

Jay*M

Auditioning
I am a Home Theater newbie and am trying to set up my entire system. Here's what I have:

Sony KP57WS500 57" rear projection HDTV
Sony DVP-NC655P 5 disc DVD player
Denon 1906 AV receiver
Polk Audio RM20 home theater speaker package
TiVo Series 2 DVR
Scientific Atlanta 3100 HD cable box (from Time Warner)
Monter Power Center HTS 3500

I tried running my cable first through the Monster Power Center, to the HD cable box, to the TiVo and then to the TV. I have noticed that the TiVo video signal is not as clear as it was before I unhooked everything to install my new receiver and speakers. Any suggestions? Do I need to run my video components through the receiver or is it okay to send them directly to the TV?

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks!

drobbins

Screenwriter
Real Name
Dave
Running them through the receiver makes switching easier. The video and audio are switched together. If that is not an issue, run them direct to the TV.
Dave

Dick Knisely

Second Unit

It's actually desirable to to go directly to the TV if you can. However, I think your situation may be a little more complicated that you might have thought about--and TiVo is the problem. Your setup is pretty similar to mine by the way. Basically the trouble is that you've only got one cable box and it has to be in the path for any of the digital channel and premium channels to get to TiVo and/or the TV. To record anything TiVo has to control that box BUT TiVo can't do anything with or even pass the HD programming to the TV so that's a problem if it's controlling the cable box. There are several possible hook-ups with none of them being ideal without an HD capable TiVo.

Okay first a basic -- need to get TiVo fed a signal to record and an output path to the TV. Input to TiVo can either be from the cable box or you can split the cable from the wall and go to TiVo directly.