What's new

Need advice on equipment I should get for a new HTS .. (1 Viewer)

ahmadka

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Ahmad Najeeb
Hi guys ... I need help on deciding equipment I need to get for a new Home Theater System for our new house ... We have a basement there which has been specifically designed for watching movies in a cinema-like environment ... There is a large wall which will have both a HDTV, and a slide-down screen on which a projector can throw its image ... I need help with the audio setup for this HTS, as I'm very new to this :)
Specifically, I need to finalize on which A/V Receiver to use, along with which speakers to use, etc ... So I'm looking for suggestions on this 'open' question. I know there's other kind of equipment as well such a separators and amplifiers, but I'm not sure if I'll be needing those or not ... I intend to use a PS3 for playing back DVDs and Blu-rays .. Additionally, I'll also have other equipment in the room, such as a Xbox 360, Apple TV, a projector, and maybe a few other TV related devices I can't think of right now ... All these things would need to use the audio setup that I put in this room ..
Currently, my budget for an A/V Receiver is maybe about $1000 ... For speakers, no budget has been currently set, but it will probably be a max of $1000 as well ..
I have currently looked at the Denon AVR-3313CI and the Onkyo TX-NR818, and find them both interesting ..
So any suggestions of any kind will be really helpful !

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
I'd drop the budget for the AVR to $600-$700, so you can have a budget for a decent sub...
Ideally....
Speakers=AVR+PS3+Apple TV+Xbox+Ipod(???)+NAS(???)
Basically, your speakers are for the HT...as the tires are for your car. It would be like buying a BMW M5 and slapping some Federals on it...
Speaking of the 818...is there anything it does that you need it over the 717, at half the cost???