What's new

taking the plunge into home theater........ (1 Viewer)

JamesSW

Auditioning
Hi guys,

Im new to home theater and am in the market for some home theater equipment. I want to start off by getting some advice on a really good receiver to get.

I appreciate your help

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Welcome to Home Theater Forum, James. You will enjoy yourself here.

As for your post, please note that the Basics area strictly is for general discussion at the beginner level. For specifics as to equipment purchased, please post in the appropriate hardware-related thread. And since you're asking about receiver recommendations, your post now is located in Receivers/Amps.

Best of luck.

John S

Senior HTF Member
Budget????

For most people new to HT, many including myself suggest the Onkyo 770 system... This has a real full featured AVR at it's heart. Not all built in stuff like a lot of HTIB's out there. (Home Theater In a Box = HTIB)

DonnyD

Screenwriter
Welcome to the world of home theater where you'll find all your spare change......

You're in good hand here... we'll help you spend it. Have fun and enjoy.

JamesSW

Auditioning
Thanks guys for the welcome.

I was initally thinking of spending around 5-600 on a receiver. Some people have told me to spend the extra money on a receiver because it is the heart of your whole home theater.

John S

Senior HTF Member
Pioneer 1014 for a great budget choice.

If your going to spend more, you probably have to go up to a Denon 3805 type price point to get truly better.

The 1014 when I evaluated one for a week, seemed a little better than the Onkyo that comes with the 770 system.

JamesSW

Auditioning
I have read some things where some people have said that they wished they would have spent the extra money on a Pioneer 1015. What is the difference between the two and is the 1015 worth the upgrade in your opinion?

MichaelPR

Second Unit