What's new

SVS 25-31pc Plus. ? (1 Viewer)

steveGamble

Stunt Coordinator
I just recieved my 25-31pc Plus sub 5 days ago. To replace my 2year old Velodyne cht 10. I thought this would be a huge upgrade?
I must be doing something wrong , I am still learning.
My completely sealed, HT room 11.5 x 20 x 7.5 is 2 weeks away from being ready to move in.
For now I'm testing stuff in my living room 12 x 16 x 15 foot ceiling open to upstairs hall, a kitchen a dining room, so pretty open area.
But My 10" paper woofer Velodyne has similar upper bass impact, as the SVS ? down low The SVS is good, vibrating the bedroom doors, + my DLP screen is Rattling (have to call Samsung about that only 90 days old.)
I have My reciever calibrated using the test tones, and a SPL meter , SVS sold me, at 00db on my Yamaha 140 watt/ch 7.1 I get 94db on all 8 Polk speakers. 100db on sub, gain to almost half. reciever sub out set to 100hz..the higher I go the better it sounds??
I put Matrix to -15db. Lots of impressive down low bass, but upper mid bass , seems missing, and as I turn it up a little more, the sub distorts and clacks.
I only played 2 full movies,,so maybe I'll play a bit more.

Should I try to add a EQ to it ? to boost the upper bass.
Maybe the sub has a problem?
Maybe I just want too much, and need a dual woofer sub ?
I didn't think I was bass crazy? I don't know now....

thought I'd ask you guys. before I see about a upgrade.
I must be doing something wrong, because evryone loves their SVS.
I want a good thump, in the mid bass area.I just don't hear it, and I am afraid to damage the sub, as I try to turn it louder, when it starts to really distort.(clack)

Thank you for you responses. :>)

Geoff Gunnell

Stunt Coordinator
In your new theater room one 25-31+ may be all you need.