What's new

Soundbar or 5.1 Surround Sound? (1 Viewer)

sedor

Auditioning
Real Name
Ryan
Ok so admittedly I am a noob in the home theater arena (we all have to start somewhere right). My experience is limited to...well basically I just enjoy watching a lot of tv. I tend to watch mostly HD tv programming through my cable box and I also stream a lot of media through my xbox 360. I am not HUGE into movies but I do watch them occasionally (as in maybe 1 or 2 per week). My media room is a small/medium sized living room (maybe 10X15 give or take a few feet). Let me start off by describing my setup and goals as well as budget.

All I have at the moment is the tv, which is a 50" Samsung Plasma 1080p. My goal is to stop using the nasty built in tv speakers and upgrade to something worthwhile without blowing my budget and getting way more equipment than I need. I'd also prefer to start small with quality gear and have the option to upgrade if needed in the future (for instance maybe start with a 2.1 setup with the option to upgrade to a 5.1. I don't know if this is even possible. Told you I was a noob).

So far I have been debating on starting with a Polk Audio IHT 3000 Soundbar. I know that by going this route I have absolutely no upgrading options, but I figured that with the affordable price tag if I chose to upgrade to a better system I could put this in my bedroom paired with my 32" Samsung. Of course I am the type of person who understands that you get what you pay for and one thing I want to avoid is cheap, no-name equipment that won't hold its value and i'll want to trade out in a matter of months. I feel like I might spend $300 on the polk audio soundbar and almost instantly not be completely satisfied with the results. True I could place it on my other tv, but my goal right now is to get something on my larger screen.